BBQ Sausage with Zucchini Noodles and Broccoli

I whipped this up one night for the husband and I. He really liked it but asked me – where do you come up with these ideas? Haha. Good question. I love looking at recipes online or food photos on Instagram and usually use the inspiration to create something using ingredients I have on hand.

BBQSausagePM

For this particular meal, I had some veggies I was wanting to use up including a large yellow zucchini I got in the CSA basket we were lucky enough to snag from our neighbor’s while they were out of town. I basically took the zucchini and broccoli as a base for sausage covered in BBQ sauce to be topped on. For me, I think most veggies are super good if they are cooked quickly over high heat with some seasonings and garlic. I used venison sausage but you could use chicken or turkey sausage as well.

IMG_5117

BBQ Sausage with Zucchini Noodles and Broccoli

Ingredients

For the Sausage:

  • 1/2 pound sausage, cooked and sliced (or use chicken sausage, plain chicken, etc. I used antelope)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup favorite BBQ sauce (I used something made locally here in Hazen using But Light, so good!)

For the veggies:

  • 3 cups broccoli, blanched (12 oz.)
  • 1 medium zucchini, spiralized or cut into thin strips
  • 1/2 T olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 hefty pinch of red pepper flakes
  • S&P to taste
  • Garnish: Roma tomatoes and green onion

Instructions

1. Cook your sausage your favorite way, stovetop or grill. Remove from heat, slice and cover with BBQ sauce. Set aside.

2. A few minutes before the sausage is done, place a large skillet over medium-high heat and add in the olive oil. Once oil heats, add in the garlic and red pepper flakes and cook for 30 seconds or until fragrant. Then, add in the zucchini noodles and broccoli cook for 3-5 minutes or until al dente, you don’t want mushy veggies. Season with salt and pepper.

3. Plate the veggies and top with sausage. Garnish with more BBQ sauce, fresh tomatoes and green onions if you wish.

IMG_5118

I am in love with spiralizing veggies. It really gives them bulk and they quick so quickly. If you don’t have a tool to spiralize your veggies, just slice them thinly.

IMG_5120

This meal comes together quickly. I grilled the sausage and worked on the veggies inside while that cooked. To make it even more fresh, we topped ours with chopped Roma’s and green onion slices.

IMG_5122

Be sure to use a BBQ sauce you love as it’ll be the main flavor component. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

