Bismarck Marathon Relay, 2015

On Saturday, September 17, I participated in my second Bismarck Marathon Relay. The weather was amazing – sunny and warm but not too hot with a nice breeze. Our team all works for the same company and we had a blast running. In fact, Mary ran our first leg and then continued on to complete the half marathon. What a stud! This probably was no big deal for this woman as she has run a marathon in all 50 states! #inspiration

20150919_114956

My team was Mary, Dave (dressed as a Blues Brother), Bruce, Josh and myself. We each ran a leg of various distances to complete 26.2 miles though Bismarck and Mandan.

20150919_081431

Dave was our second runner and he warmed up his body by playing the harmonica while waiting for Mary. He is crazy!

20150919_091448

I loved this race because I got to see so many friends and running buddies out on the course. This is Keshia – I’ve known her a long time and she provides a lot of running inspiration and motivation. Way to crush it, girl!

20150919_091740

Here comes Dave at the end of his leg, ready to hand off to Josh. Dave actually ran and played the harmonica! Dave is also a seasoned runner who has completed many half and full marathons as well as a couple of ultra’s. Talent!

20150919_092912

This is the important part of our convoy. The cooler full of water and beer and the speaker for some running tunes to fire us up!

20150919_09270420150919_112214

I ran the 4th leg after Josh for 6.6 miles. I loved my leg. I got to run over the bridge from Mandan to Bismarck and through Sertoma Park where I would hand off to Bryce. This was my before and after. A little sweaty and of course a red face. I was ok with my time and again, saw a lot of running friends on my leg. Everyone is so positive and quick to say hi. I just love it.

20150919_112743

I was so busy visiting other teams I forgot to get my medal. Luckily, I snagged one at the finish while we waited to run in with Bryce and finish as a group.

20150919_114743

And here he comes! Looking strong, we all filled in and ran across the finish line together. The race director works at our same company so it was nice to see him. He is super fired up to get more people involved from our company to run as a team.

20150919_114952

We had the ambulance driver take our photo by his ride. It was appropriate we thought. Ha.

20150919_125150

We all convened at JL Beers to talk about the race and enjoy a hearty meal. Dang, JL has the best burgers! Rehydration is important and this is a great place to do so. What a fun time.

20150919_193541

I ended my day out at the Hazen Golf Course and I snapped this photo of the sunset I thought was so pretty and a perfect ending to a pretty perfect day. Here’s to next year!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bismarck Marathon Relay, 2015

  1. Very cool! Congrats. Looks like fun and I miss JL Beers burgers:)

Leave a Reply

