Flour free banana bread bars

These are a healthy muffin type of bar that I like to crumble into my morning yogurt for a bit of texture and more flavor. They are easy to whip together in the blender in just a minute or two. I’m not going to kid you, these don’t taste like banana bread, but they have a similar texture and slightly sweet taste. I’m not a gluten free or special diet person, but I think the title of these help imply they are healthier.

IMG_5094

I don’t have any cute graphic for this recipe post. It is a brown bread and I crumble it into my yogurt. I’m not a blogger who cuts the food into pieces and arranges it on a plate with oats sprinkled about it. This is how I eat and I’m usually lucky to remember to get a finished photo before I eat the food! I like to make this because it is quick, healthy and gives me some needed texture in my yogurt – I like to chew my food.

IMG_5093

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup almond or peanut butter
  • 2 ripe medium bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp. honey or brown rice syrup
  • ¾ cup rolled oats
  • 2 Tbsp. ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375F and prepare an 8×8 or 9×9 pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

Add all ingredients to a blender or food processer and mix on high until batter is smooth and creamy, wiping down the sides as needed.

Pour into prepared pan and bake for 13-15 minutes until the top is set and a toothpick inserted to the middle comes out clean. Allow to cool before cutting into 9 pieces and serving. Store in the fridge in an air-tight container for up to a week.

Slightly adapted from Running with Spoons.

IMG_5096IMG_5097

It doesn’t even take a minute or two for this to come together. The hardest part will be washing your blender.

IMG_5105

The finished product. Again, I like this in yogurt but it’d be great with jelly, more peanut butter or baked with some chocolate chips. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

