Dinner idea: Citrus brown rice, quinoa and ground beef

In an effort to get back to proper portion control, healthy eats and warm meals I have made it a little mission of mine to try some new foods. Variety is the spice of life, right?

CitrusRicePM

One of my friends was telling me how much she enjoys quinoa (hi Nicole!) and I’ve heard about it everywhere online. I have found I enjoy many of the frozen vegetable options at Sam’s Club. They are hearty, whole and fresh tasting. While shopping that aisle, I found this concoction that caught my eye.

IMG_5107

Hawaiian Style Rice & Vegetable Blend: Brown rice, red quinoa, carrots, peas, snap peas, corn, red peppers, edamame & pineapple tidbits in a tasty hoisin citrus sauce. This package had 4 individual microwavable packets inside. Each packet had 3 servings at 1 cup for 110 calories each. I made this into a meal by adding some seasoned lean ground beef. Chicken, tofu or turkey would also be excellent.

IMG_5106

Citrus brown rice, quinoa and ground beef

  • 3/4 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1/2 onion, sliced
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • Rice vinegar
  • Soy sauce (the pic shows Worcestershire on accident)
  • Ground or fresh ginger
  • Red pepper flakes
  • 1 package veggies mix from above
  • Garnish with green onion, cilantro, more soy sauce and Sriracha if desired.

Brown your hamburger and drain if needed. Break into crumbles as it browns. Add onion and garlic and sauté until desired doneness. I seasoned my ground beef by eyeballing rice vinegar, soy sauce, ground ginger and red pepper flakes. Taste and adjust as needed. Microwave your rice/veggie mix as meat is nearly done. Divide into 3 equal portions. Top with any garnishes you like.

*Tip: if you have any leftover veggies in your fridge, add them to the meat mix after it is cooked and warm veggies through. I had some leftover green beans and warmed up with the meat it was a great addition and way to use leftovers.

IMG_5108

Plated for my meal and two leftovers to be warmed up another day.

IMG_5112

I topped mine with green onion, cilantro and hot sauce, of course. This meal really hit the spot and comes together in minutes. Next time I might do a double batch for more leftovers. This freezes well. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

