POUNDS Fargo

I recently spent an EPIC weekend in Fargo with my sister who resides there. I lived in Fargo for about 7 years, but have been gone for 5 years now almost. I try to keep current on what is going on in Fargo and have a (long) list of places I want to visit. Most of these places serve food and/or beer. My favorites. I was able to tick off 6 must-see places (Fargo Family Wellness Center, Chipotle, Rhombus Guys, Drekker Brewing, Wurst Bier Hall and Pounds restaurant), honestly, I was happy with all of these places. Lucky for me, Drekker, Wurst and Pounds are all right next to each other on 1st Ave North. This was perfect so we could just park and walk.

20150711_160138

The gorgeous interior of Pounds, but first a little more on my trip.

We started at noon at Drekker Brewing and took the hour long, informative Grains to Glass beer tour. What a beautiful brewery. Great custom artwork and the beer was enjoyable. The owners were fun and interactive with our group. Be sure to buy your ticket in advance – it includes 4 half pints of beer.

20150711_11550520150711_122052

Tasting the barley.

20150711_135927IMG_20150711_131407869

Some of the custom artwork and my girlfriend Dedre, myself and one of the funny owners, Mason.

Immediately next door was Wurst and while that type of food doesn’t really interest me, the beer certainly does. And don’t get me wrong, I’ll eat any food. Between my sister, friend and I, we decided to each order a different flight of beers and taste and share. That way we got 12 tastes of beer. The samples we got were the German Pride, Is it Summer Yet? and Hop Head. Loved the German flight!

20150711_142944

By this time, we were getting HUNGRY! I’ve followed news stories and the social media accounts of Pounds which just opened this summer. This food seemed right up my alley. It is a family-friendly place with homemade American food. The location used to be the Beefsteak Club and the former chef is one of the new owners of Pounds along with two other gentlemen. The dishes are affordable ($8-12), they have a nice selection of beer and a beautiful, bright atmosphere. We grabbed a small bar/counter top table that looked directly out onto 1st Ave. Perfect for people watching. Find Pounds on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. Drool worthy photos!

20150711_150529

Our waitress greeted us quickly and without even looking at the menu, I ordered us the poutine. I had seen a picture on their social media and knew I must have it! This dish is hand cut fries covered with demi gravy and topped with cheese curds. I ordered a tap beer and my dining partners ordered a Beer and a Bump. This was a beer served along with a shot of liquor. Our poutine came out VERY quickly and piping hot. It was one of those dishes were you are using your finger to swipe the bottom of the basket to get every last drip of that glorious homemade gravy. I also really liked the squeaky cheese curds on top.

20150711_151500

At about this time, I also introduced myself to Alan, one of the owners. He was very professional and kind to us. Thank you Alan for hosting us. I know I will return based on the food quality, price and quickness. To be fair, when we visited it was an “off” time, probably about 2 or 3 o’clock, after the lunch rush and before supper. There were a few others in there but regardless, our service was outstanding by everyone that came to our table.

IMG_20150711_160242670_HDR

Thanks for humoring me with a photo, Alan!

OK, onto our meals. Here is what we ordered and the menu description:

Feistyeats

  • Sunset Rider burger with handcut fries with Parmesan truffle olive oil
  • Pepperjack cheese, Dr. Pepper BBQ sauce, tomato and fried onion squigglers – $10 with an additional $1 for the Parmesan truffle olive oil
  • Note, you can order your burger on a lettuce bun and pick a different side if you’d like.
  • I was a little hesitant on the BBQ sauce as I’m generally not a sauc-y fan. The burger arrived on a soft bun with the sauce, but not too much. It was like a wonderful, sweet Dr. pepper ketchup if you will. I LOVED the onion squigglers and the tomato gave it a little juice. However, it was not needed. The burger was cooked perfectly. I love a medium cooked burger. If I had a slight criticism, I wish the fries were a bit more crispy.

20150711_153041

My friend

  • Sloppy Joe with brussel sprouts.
  • Sloppy Joe mix, topped with Lay’s potato chips served on a pepper parmesan bun. The sprouts are made with butter, white wine and chicken stock.
  • You may find it odd to order a sloppy joe at a restaurant but it isn’t odd when it’s elevated to this level.

My sister

  • Chicken Digit Melt with fries
  • Handcut chicken digits with bacon and Muenster cheese on sourdough. She skipped the tomato and BBQ sauce. Regular fries.

CknDigit

Now, I have known my sister her whole life (crazy, I know) and she rarely finishes a meal. There was nothing left after this.

After dining, you really should walk off all that delicious food. I saw some hula hoops lining the wall and Alan said to go ahead and use them, they want this to be a fun place. Well, who can tell an owner no?

20150711_160400

Please visit Pounds if you are downtown. You won’t be sorry and you won’t have to break the bank.

One more thing I’d like to share is that of all these places, the owners or managers are so supportive of one another and encourage you to visit other restaurants and breweries. Mason at Drekker assured us we’d love Pounds when we told him we were going there. I love to see these small, locally owned places supporting one another.

Pounds opens at 11am for lunch and stays open until at least 10, I think midnight on the weekends. Besides the beer we enjoyed, they also have a large drink menu with fun cocktails. And with the restaurant being named Pounds, you can order several menu items by the pound. The 38th parallel burger with kimchi, pepperjam, cilantro and yin-yang house will probably be my next burger when I go back to Fargo.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc, Restaurant Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to POUNDS Fargo

  1. kate says:

    Take me take me take me next time.

  2. Tracie B. says:

    I love the pretzels with cheese dip at Wurst. They taste like beer. 🙂 I can’t wait to try Pounds sometime.

Leave a Reply

