Hearty Breakfast Bake

I am a huge fan of breakfast. I can eat it morning, noon or night. There are just so many options between pancakes, eggs, sweet, savory, meats, veggies, fruits, etc. This dish is a hearty breakfast bake I assembled the night before eating. I went on a long run, returned home, popped this in the oven and by the time I drank some water and showered it was ready to be devoured.

HBBPM.jpg

I call it hearty because I used some super thick, sturdy bread I got when I was in Fargo. I try to make it a point to visit the Breadsmith store there (on 32nd Ave S by Hornbachers) and purchase this bread, called Marathon Multigrain. It is full of seeds, dense and filling. I also really love their whole wheat pizza dough – it freezes beautifully, making it easy to transport. They have a lot of great sweets, breads, buns and even biscuits for your 4-legged friend. Stop by if you get a chance. Anyway, all of this to say you want to use a thick bread that will soak up your eggs. Over the counter, nasty, thin white bread won’t be the same. I am a bread snob when it comes to this dish anyway. Combined with eggs, venison bacon and fresh herbs and veggies, this was a special treat. If you don’t want meat or want to sub out veggies you prefer, feel free!

20150717_163702

Hearty Breakfast Bake, recipe by FeistyEats

  • 3 slices thick bread, cubed into about 1” pieces
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • Pepper, garlic powder, garlic salt and red pepper flakes to taste
  • 4-5 fresh basil leaves, chiffonade cut
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced (red, green, yellow – whatever you want)
  • Cooked venison bacon, diced (sub real bacon, sausage or ham; just make sure it is cooked), equal to about 8 oz. or so
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese, divided

Grease a 2.5 Liter baking dish. Scramble your eggs with milk and spices in a large bowl. To this bowl, add in cubed bread, red pepper, onion, bacon and 1/4 cup cheese. Stir to combine. Place in baking dish, cover and store in the fridge overnight.

The next morning, preheat oven to 400F. Bake for 35 minutes, uncovered, remove and top with the reserved 1/4 cup of cheese. Place back in oven for another 5 minutes until cheese starts to brown up. (Of course, be sure to check yours has cooked fully as well. Oven temps vary and depending on your bread, it might take longer or cook quicker.)

Let cool for 10 minutes. Cut and serve. We topped ours with hot sauce. The leftovers store well in the fridge and heat up nicely in the microwave. This made 6 pieces.

20150717_174654

This is how mine looked right before I put it in the fridge for the evening.

20150718_09054020150718_093013

Out of the oven at 35 minutes and then topped with cheese. I used pepperjack cheese.

20150718_093237

This stands up beautifully and makes a wonderful, savory breakfast treat. This is particularly nice if you have overnight guests and you don’t want to make a big fuss or loud noises the next morning.

20150718_093250

I had to take a photo of this side view. I really love the crispy edges and browned bits of bread on top. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hearty Breakfast Bake

  1. kate says:

    I got eat a piece of that right now. Looks great.

Leave a Reply

