Grilled venison sausage, peppers and onion hoagies

Hi! I am back with another dinner idea I kind of came up with when I had an abundance of peppers to use up. Considering some of you might have some peppers and onions growing in your garden, this is a timely idea. I don’t want to say recipe because I am using rough measurements. Make it to your preference. And, if you don’t garden – check out your local Farmer’s Market!

Pic

We have only a few jars of the sweet and tangy marinara sauce my husband canned last fall. I just love this stuff and could eat it with a spoon. In an effort to eat up all the canned tomato goodies before this years’ harvest I decided to use them on hoagie sandwiches.

This is a man pleasing meal but isn’t too bad on your waistline since I grilled the veggies (instead of sautéing them in oil), used venison (instead of pork) sausage and hollowed out the whole wheat hoagie. More room for the good stuff that way. Serve alongside veggies and you have a great meal.

20150626_182958

  • Whole wheat hoagie rolls (hollowed out)
  • Several small, sweet peppers (or two large yellow, orange or red ones), sliced
  • 2 onions, slices
  • Venison sausage (or chicken, turkey, etc.)
  • Olive oil spray
  • Seasonings of your choice for onions and peppers (suggest pepper, garlic powder, dried Italian spices and creole salt)
  • 1 jar canned marinara sauce

Throw your sausage on the grill first as it will take the longest to cook. While it is cooking, season your peppers and onions by spraying them with olive oil and applying as much of any seasonings of your liking to the veggies. Throw them on the grill. In the house, warm your marinara on the stovetop. Lastly, crisp up your hoagies by grilling them in the last few minutes of everything cooking.

Assemble your hoagie with sausage, peppers and marinara. Top with some green onion if you like. Serve with veggies.

20150626_183159

Gorgeous veggies ready for the grill.

20150626_190747

This was towards the end of my grilling. I like to get a little char on my veggies – personal preference.

I don’t REALLY want to get into it here (but I kind of do but I am a passive person) but gluten is NOT BAD for you. Well, if you have celiac disease, it obviously is. That affects about 1% of the population so you are probably OK eating gluten. The big problem is likely you eat TOO much gluten. It will make you feel groggy, bloated, etc. just as eating too much of any food will do. Guess what? Those gluten free cookies and crackers aren’t “good” for you either. And even though I enjoy hummus (for example), it totally irks me when they label their packages gluten free. Well, it always has been, always will be most likely. That is just an annoying sales tactic. All this to say, enjoy your (whole wheat) bread, in moderation.

20150626_19183020150626_19183920150626_191910

You HAVE to love summer grilling. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner idea, Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

