Chorizo Curly Fry Nachos

Nachos are quickly climbing to be one of my favorite treats – both at home and to try at restaurants. I have had some BAD nachos (say no to liquid cheese please) and I have had some great nachos (pulled pork). It’s pretty easy to control the quality at home. Cutting up veggies is probably the hardest part.

chorizoCF

I won a gift certificate to 2k Meats and More, a terrific butcher shop in nearby Beulah. I purchased a few new to me items to try including chorizo. I have seen it used in numerous applications on Food Network and it is described as a spicy sausage so I thought I’d like it. I decided to make nachos for us.

20150531_154710

We try to eat mostly healthy during the week. On Sunday, we kind of treat ourselves to a “not-so-healthy” meal and sometimes Dairy Queen. Hey, you have to live a little. This particular Sunday, we had nachos.

20150531_154714

Nachos are the easiest to customize – vegan? Leave off the meat and cheese. Vegetarian? Leave off the meat. Don’t like onions? Fine, no problem! Here’s how we made ours.

Chorizo Curly Fry Nachos

  • 1/2 bag Ore Ida curly fries, prepared according to package
  • 1 lb. chorizo sausage, fried, crumbled and drained of excess fat
  • Shredded Mexican cheese, about 1 cup

Toppings of your choice: tomatoes, onions, cilantro, jalapenos, salsa, sour cream, etc.

Bake the fries according to the package. Remove and top with cooked meat (Italian sausage, turkey, hamburger, etc. would also work) and cheese. Return to the oven until cheese melts and remove. Top with fresh veggies and sauces of your choice.

p.s. Those little burnt bits of cheese on the edges are my fave!! Enjoy!

20150531_154718

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chorizo Curly Fry Nachos

  1. jenieats says:

    This looks totally delicious. Congrats on winning that gift certificate! I have a thing for that goopy cheese sauce.

Leave a Reply

