Food prep salads

For the past year or so I have gotten pretty good (at least I think) at meal prepping and getting food ready for the week. I usually do a big prep on Sunday and maybe another one or two small ones during the week. The big prep will take me a couple of hours but it saves me so many hours during the week.

So why meal prep?

  • Keeps my meals healthy
  • Economical (no eating out)
  • Easy during the rushed work week

Our favorite lunches lately are big salads. I generally grill a few pounds of chicken breast and cut and measure it out each Sunday to grab to top salads. Any protein would work though.

20150615_182912

The secret to meal prepping is just to be organized. I find that salads generally last in the fridge 2-3 days. After that they get watery. So for this instance I was making two salads for myself, two salads for my husband and a wrap for my supper the next night.

20150615_182740

Empty your fridge of its contents. Well, that is what it feels like. A few tips I use for salads:

  • Chop once. Chop your veggies when you get home and package them. Same goes for herbs.
  • Use help. Buy the shredded carrots so you don’t have to cut them up. I also use sliced pickles so I don’t have to chop.
  • Layer. Lettuce first, veggies, sauces and then salty toppings like pickles and feta.
  • Dressing alternative. Instead of dressing I usually use cottage cheese, a little hummus or Greek yogurt dip and mustard.

20150615_185103

Here are my finished meals – 5 of them and only one mess. I keep the chicken on the side and warm it up in the microwave at work to top the salads. I also eat about 2 cups of green veggies (usually broccoli much to my co-workers dismay because he says it stinks) that I make in advance. Give meal prepping a try. It’s been a huge healthy step for us and a great time saver.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Feisty Eats, Salad, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

