Raspberry Oatmeal Bars

Hello! Today I am sharing a recipe that I have posted before. I only changed it up slightly but I think it’s worth sharing because it is 1) super easy and 2) quite tasty. These are perfect to mix together in a hurry as you probably have all the ingredients on hand. Bonus if you can your own jam or preserves. The original recipe is a Pioneer Woman recipe, my strawberry version (made with a food processor) is here and today I just mixed it up a bit with some of my Grannie’s homemade raspberry jam.

PMraspberrybars

These are sure to please both adults and kids!

20150527_194102

Raspberry Oatmeal Bars

  • 1 3/4 sticks salted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (if using unsalted butter, otherwise omit)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I added this, it wasn’t in the original recipe, but I thought it was a great addition)
  • One 10 to 12-ounce jar raspberry preserves (or whatever flavor you like of jam, jelly, etc.)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter or spray a 9-by-13-inch rectangular pan.

Mix together the butter, flour, oats, brown sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Press half the oat mixture into the prepared pan. Spread with the raspberry preserves. Sprinkle the other half of the oat mixture over the top and pat lightly. Bake until light brown, 35 to 40 minutes. Let cool completely, and then cut into squares.

20150527_195607

Gently spread the jam on the oatmeal base.

20150528_070835

You will see that the oats cover both the bottom and the top.

20150528_070904

My butter was slightly softened – out for maybe an hour or two? I just used a fork to cut it into the oats and flour. It took a while to come together but it does. Good thing I have strong Midwestern German/Norwegian forearms.

20150528_070909

Or, feel free to use a food processor. I stored these in the fridge until my husband took them out to his friends ranch to work cattle and share with the crew. Enjoy this easy recipe!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

