Dinner idea: Cheeseburger Salad

Back with another dinner idea for you on this short work week. I hope everyone had a wonderful Memorial Day and weekend.

Grilling season is now in full force and this is probably my favorite grilled meal we eat. It is basically a cheeseburger deluxe in salad form – just minus the bun. Of course, you could always add croutons for some bread factor if you’d like.

CheeseBurger

Just like a deluxe burger, you can pick and choose your toppings. This is generally what I prefer:

  • 1 large, lean grilled burger
  • a large bed of mixed greens for the base
  • shredded carrots
  • diced tomatoes
  • sliced pickles
  • pickled banana peppers
  • green onions
  • grilled white or yellow onions
  • cottage cheese (instead of mounds of sliced or shredded cheese)
  • Dressing: mustard and ketchup

I promise you that mustard and ketchup is good on a salad topped with a burger. Yum!

20150331_191214

What I really like about this meal is how the warm burger goes on the crisp cold veggies. It is easy to assemble. In fact, often times if I am making us salads for lunch, I’ll assemble the veggies on a plate, cover with plastic wrap overnight and serve the next night when I grill the burgers and onions. Give this a try; I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. I think I could eat this at least twice a week. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dinner idea: Cheeseburger Salad

  1. jenieats says:

    This is a super creative salad! And creative use of burger patties.

  2. Tracie B. says:

    Totally doing this tomorrow night with my leftover grilled burger and some garden lettuce.

Leave a Reply

