Summer workout plan

Summer is coming! (Right, I mean it can’t rain forever. Right?) I LOVE warm, even hot weather. I love working out in warm weather and I love sweating (when working out). I am the type of person who always has a plan and my workout is no different. I like to lay out a 10-week or so plan and tweak it as needed depending on weather and other events taking place. I thought I’d try something new and share my plan with you here. Hopefully it will keep me motivated to stick with it.

20150424_181029

Rehydrating with a beer is another thing I love! Our grass is much greener now after all the rain.

Cross/strength Training: For cross training I like to workout at home to my Shaun T DVD’s. I plan to do a hybrid program 3 days a week, 1 hour at a time using T25 and Insanity Max30 DVDs. I hope this increases my strength, speed and flexibility.

20150331_06340020150423_06303420150501_062944

Stretch: I got out of this habit over the winter. I want to stretch for 30 minutes each Sunday. This really helps with my hips and I have been noticing pain lately. Also, keep working on my head stand. I’m getting more and more confident with it.

20150410_06273220150428_063155

Run: I want to improve my running and plan for 3 specific runs a week. I am hoping to get a little fast and go a little further.

20150506_060353IMG_20150504_191558

Biking: Ideally I’d like to get in 2-3 bike rides per week, probably on the same days I do my runs. I really want to focus on getting faster this year and doing more specific speed work instead of just pedaling. My legs seem to get very tired (at least in my head) when I cycle and I think it is more mental. I really would like to improve. I have a hybrid bike and love it. I don’t exactly have a plan for this yet but haven’t started biking much yet since it hasn’t warmed up much yet.

20150508_065721

Swimming: I am hoping to SWIM this summer. I think with the swimming skills I learned at BSC Aquatic Center I can actually try to focus on continuously swimming for at least 30-45 minutes without breaking. It’ll take me a while to get there but I’m confident with practice I can do it! This will depend heavily on weather. I am considering taking another class at BSC because we had so much fun and since it is indoors – no weather worries. I just wish it was closer distance wise.

20150506_193245

I feel like that is a pretty aggressive workout plan for someone who just does this as her hobby and to hopefully stay in good shape. But, this is my passion right now and I like seeing the improvements within myself. I want this summer to be active and healthy. Let’s do this! Rain, rain go away!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer workout plan

  1. Celeste E. says:

    Sounds like a great plan…and of course, I like the rehydrating with a beer part the best! Keep us posted on how you do! With the workout…not the beer. Or with the beer, too! Actually, you’ll have to let me know if you try and any good ones!

  2. kate says:

    Funny you posted this now. I was just going to ask you how the running was going. As always sounds like a good plan.

Leave a Reply

