Dinner idea: Italian Stuffed Sweet Potato

Sometimes I see certain recipes or ideas online and I can’t get them out of my head and warp them into a combo I think would be good. Now, this might sound kind of odd, but it was really good. What we had was a sweet potato stuffed with Italian spiced ground turkey, homemade Ragu sauce and topped with a little feta cheese, red pepper flakes and green onions. You might notice that I top a lot of my meals with green onions. I love the mild taste and brightness they bring to a dish. Below is a guideline of how to put this meal together.

ItalianStuffed

Italian Stuffed Sweet Potato – serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium baked sweet potatoes (tip – I bake a bunch of these at once and just keep in the fridge for easy meals)
  • 1 pound Italian style ground turkey (you can find this in the grocery store already seasoned Italian style – feel free to add any additional spices when cooking this. I would suggest oregano, garlic powder or red pepper flakes)
  • 1 can tomato sauce – Ragu style (my husband cans his own and we used a full mason jar)
  • Garnish: feta cheese, red pepper flakes and green onion

Brown your ground turkey in a large skillet. Drain off any fat or juice if needed. Add spices if you wish. Add tomato sauce and heat through. Slice your sweet potato open and stuff with your turkey meat. Top with cheese and enjoy. Serve alongside a veggie and you have a great, well-rounded meal.

20150325_184746

I loved the combo of the spicy meat with the sweet potato. If you give this a try, enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

