Perfect boiled AND peeled eggs

Yes, you read that correctly. I love boiled eggs, deviled eggs, egg salad, etc. but I don’t make those things nearly as often as I’d like because I HATED (with the force of a thousand suns) peeling eggs. I’ve tried all the tricks I’ve heard – baking soda in the water, boil and put in cold water and on and on. A lot of people seem to have a trick, but they never worked for me.

BoilEggs

Look at those beautiful eggs!

Do you guys ever watch The Kitchen on Food Network? I love that show (probably my fave Food Network show right now) and they have great tips/recipes. One tip that my husband caught (I think it was from Geoffrey Zakarian) was on how to peel eggs. I listened but didn’t put much stock in the method since I’ve tried so many ways. Now, I don’t know if this was a total fluke or what but the eggs all peeled easily and beautifully. Why, why, why did it take me 35 years to learn this trick?

20150404_172119

  1. Place your eggs in a large enough pot to cover with about an inch of water over the eggs.
  2. Boil for exactly 12 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat after 12 minutes and drain water immediately.
  4. Rinse with cold water and then drain it all off.
  5. Leave the eggs in that pot, but then shake them in the pot (quite vigorously) to break the shells in several place.
  6. Add cold water to the pot immediately after that.
  7. Peel.

The theory is that they eggs will crack and then the cold water will get under the membrane so they peel easily. For most of my eggs I could get the shell off in one or two pieces. It went super quick. Give it a try!

p.s. I tried this a few times and while I had a few blemishes a few times, overall it is the best tip I have used. Give it a try!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, How To, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perfect boiled AND peeled eggs

  1. Katey911 says:

    This is where I always get confused: do you boil for 12 minutes, or do you leave them cooking for 12 minutes and only boiling for a short time?

  2. kate says:

    I tried this it worked real well.

Leave a Reply

