That time I got hit by a car running

I think every runner or cyclist’s biggest fear is getting hit by a car. I got hit by a car running! Disclaimer: the car was going slower than I was and I am more than OK. Here’s how the situation went down.

I had the day off on Good Friday, April 3. I had plans later in the day to cruise over to Montana so I thought it’d be nice to start out the day with some fitness and get some movement in before sitting around most of the day. I set out on a run, I was thinking 9-10 miles. It was quite brisk so I bundled up with a few layers and set off. I’d say it was going well. It took a few miles to warm up – both body temperature wise and mentally/physically. I had to say this because I never wanted to be “one of those” people but it takes me a few miles to warm up and get in a little bit of a groove. I was feeling good and set out going east on Main St in Hazen, I was on about mile 7. I was running directly into the sun, it was about 9am I’d guess. I was coming to an intersection and a car was approaching the stop sign and would be turning right – the direction I was coming from. The car was going very slow, almost to a stop. I (foolishly) assumed she would stop since there was a stop sign. I couldn’t make eye contact with her since I was running directly into the sun. I was about half way through the crosswalk when she clipped me with her driver’s side bumper.

20150403_085446

Not impressed. For a brief second, I knew I was going to get hit. Time went in slow motion. I was going to jump onto her hood but I just kind of jumped out of the way. FYI, a Mustang comes to just below your knee on a 5’11” woman. I was pretty stunned and from the look on her face, she also was. She wasn’t on the phone or fidgeting with her radio that I could tell. She was just distracted. I get it – it happens to me daily. Especially in small-town Hazen where there were approximately 0 other cars on this quiet holiday morning. I kind of just kept running and she finally rolled down her frosty (maybe she couldn’t see through it?) window and asked if I was OK. I said I was and continued on. She said are you sure? I said I was just surprised. I didn’t know what to do but I was fine. She was going so slow. So I kept going.

20150403_092834

That small, very light colored mark on my shin is where I was hit – I told you it was really nothing.

Only about ½ block down, I was running by the drug store. I saw a checkbook on the group, opened it and flipped it open and didn’t recognize the name. I took it into the drug store clerk and she knew immediately it was a little old man who had parked hi mobile scooter outside the drug store. She thanked me and I continued on. I couldn’t help but wonder if I was held up with the car thing so I could reunite this man with his wallet? Who knows? But then my mind started going into overdrive on what if? What if she was even going 10mph? I can’t imagine the fear. What if she was going faster? What if I did get hurt? I nearly started crying and decided I wanted to get home and just process all my thoughts. I ended my run at a little over 8 miles and told my husband what went on. There was barely a red mark on my shin and no damage was done. But I kept thinking what I could have done to prevent this.

  • Don’t trust a crosswalk – I might have the right of way but I never know what a driver might be doing/thinking/seeing/hearing
  • Wear brighter colors – I make it an effort to wear bright clothes when I cycle but this day my colors were all darker. Even though it is a sunny day – dress bright
  • Don’t be distracted – I don’t run with headphones or an iPod or whatever as I want to hear what is going on around me or who is approaching. I still let my mind wander and could focus better on the now
  • Never trust a stop sign – A LOT of people don’t come to full stops at a stop sign, including myself. This is especially true in our small town where apparently everyone is also out of blinker fluid

One of my biggest fears when I am cycling is getting hit by a vehicle. If you’ve never been to Hazen I’ll tell you a little about the layout. You could probably run one end to the other and maybe cover 3-4 miles? If you are running or cycling consistently you know a person really prefers variety and seeing different sights. I have a favorite path I take but it gets old and there is little to no shoulder on that road. Just a few summers ago, Hwy 200 (main thorough way) was widened to include shoulders. I am happy about this as it gives me another option – but the speed limit is 45-65 mph so it is scary. I have no idea what is coming at me since you are supposed to cycle with traffic. I am good with wearing my helmet when I ride but I often wonder how much protection it would really offer if I was hit. I don’t want to find out. Traffic goes fast and there usually is not much for other cyclists. I think I have seen about 2-3 others on a given ride. In town it’s OK but I really like to try to pick up speed and in town with kids and pets and short roads and what not, it’s not ideal.

I kind of feel like when I run at least I can see what is coming at me. So be safe – I never want something like this to happen to anyone or myself again.

20150403_133013

I obviously quickly recovered. This was a fun sign at Boots Bar in Medora where we stopped. It says” “A fine beer can be judged from one sip but it’s better to be thoroughly sure!” Perfect!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That time I got hit by a car running

  1. kate says:

    Humorous posy. But scary. Like the not impressed photo. Lol

  2. kate says:

    Humorous POST.

Leave a Reply

