Sriracha Sloppy Joes

So I know Sriracha is kind of basic but I still love it. We have a lot of wonderful ground beef and I am always looking for new ways to use it up. I love sloppy joes (I grew up calling them slushburgers) but they get old sometimes. Spicing up the meat changed the recipe enough to be something new and give me that kick of heat I love. My husband liked it too and said it left his lips burning. This recipe makes a huge batch so I freeze half of it after it’s cooked to use another night. I love that also for busy nights.

SrirachaJoes (2)

Serve on bread or buns or even on top of a salad for a hearty meal.

20150205_175321

Sriracha Sloppy Joes, adapted from Real Food By Dad

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds lean ground beef
  • 1 onion, coarsely chopped
  • 4 garlic gloves, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 14 0z. can diced tomatoes
  • ¼ cup of water
  • 2 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • ¼ cup Sriracha
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce (I used soy sauce because we were out of Worcestershire)
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons cumin
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • ½ teaspoon ground scotch bonnet pepper OR cayenne pepper

Instructions

  1. Place skillet over high heat. Add in the meat, using a wooden spoon, break it up into small pieces, and cook until browned. Remove meat and drain if needed. Reserve about 1 tablespoon of fat from the pan. Add in the onion and cook until soft and translucent, about 3 minutes. Add in the garlic and cook for one more minute. Reduce the heat to medium-low and add in remaining ingredients; cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Return meat to pan, stir to evenly heat everything. Serve on a bun, bread or salad.

20150205_184140

Enjoy this spicy, easy supper idea!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

