Fitness Classes

I’ve had a great 2015 so far. Since the New Year I have seen a lot of family members, got to visit a lot of friends (or made plans to visit soon) and I have tried out a lot of fitness centers with some new to me classes. Do you ever plan your ideal Saturday? I play this game all the time. Right now mine would look like this: Wake up early after a night of excellent sleep. Eat a healthy breakfast of yogurt, fruit and peanut butter. Go to the gym and take a fitness class and then have time to do some treadmill or weights work and wind down by walking on the treadmill and catching up on social media on my phone. Follow that up with a dip in the Whirlpool and a nice long, hot shower. After that would be a healthy lunch – maybe a wrap and some steamed broccoli and iced tea. Next would be a little exploring/shopping downtown. Finally, there would be some beer tasting and pizza and or nachos. All with friend(s) or family. I’d end the night playing games and/or having drinks with friends. I cannot picture much more of a perfect day. Basically food, fitness, friends/family and beer. All my faves.

I have had a chance to have a lot of Saturdays pretty similar to the one described above. I thought it would be fun to recap where I went and my thoughts on my experiences briefly.

Missouri Valley YMCA – Bismarck – cycle and then kickboxing with Nicole, beginning of January – Jan. 10 maybe?

Kickboxing: Cardio kickboxing uses easy to follow steps for a total body cardio workout!

31f9ac60188e919212dd611d77414780

I have been wanting to take a kickboxing class for a while. I have never before and even better, my co-worker (at a different location than where I work) teaches the class. I started out with a cycling class and it was great. Generally a cycling class has to be pretty bad before I say it sucks. I really like cycling because you make it your own. You can push yourself or take it easy. I have done both depending on how I feel. I took it fairly easy and then hit up the treadmill for a few miles before taking kickboxing. As the description says it’s cardio kickboxing and the instructor made it easy to follow along. Nicole was the instructor and she is spunky and fun. She incorporates cardio, plyo, Insanity moves and more. This was definitely a whole body workout. The floor length jumping burpees at the end were killer. I’d take this class over and over. The studio it is held in is super big, airy, lots of light and mirrors. Perfect for this class.

Courts Plus Fargo – Cycle – Saturday, Jan. 17

Cycle! This group cycling class is designed for all fitness levels. It involves various cycling drills that offer an exhilarating cardiovascular workout. 45‐60 min.

20150117_094029

This class was packed, not an empty bike. I think it might have been one of the best classes I have taken. The instructor was just so great and had a great variety of tunes playing. Her name was Emily and I loved her attitude. Even better, I got to sit next to one of my sister’s friends so I even had a workout buddy.

Minot Family YMCA – Well Beats on Jan. 24 – link to my review

Cycling-Change up your exercise routine with a cycling workout. Join us for hill climbing, sprints, flats and so much more. Side effects include greater cardio conditioning and improved stamina.

20150124_064838_thumb

Bismarck YMCA – cycle with Kat Wed, Jan. 28

Cycling: One of the most popular group fitness classes at the Y. No complicated choreography with easy to learn techniques. Intensity is controlled by you, making cycling appropriate for all levels of fitness.

Again, great instructor! Kat made the class and had great tunes pumping. She was constantly challenging us to go higher and further.

Minot Family YMCA – Well Beats on Jan. 31

Another Well Beats class at the Minot Y but this time with two awesome girlfriends. The gym is about 90 minutes from my home and I was running a little late. I still got a good workout. I stand by the fact that the virtual class isn’t nearly as good as the in-person class but it is great to have the alternative when the in-person classes doesn’t fit your schedule. The classes are not as long as advertised either so keep that in mind.

Bismarck Aquatic Center/BisParks – Deep Water – Sat., Feb. 14

Deep Water Aerobics – 45 MINUTES – a great workout, where the intensity is increased through the resistance of the water. Using floatation devices, you power walk or run with enough vertical space so your feet do not touch the bottom. Comfort in Deep Water required.

I went to this class with my friend Jen. It was great getting in the water, especially considering this day it was about –5 degrees outside. We wore flippers and used weights in the water. Super relaxing and fun.

20150214_101252

In between these fun events I kept up my regular at home exercise and of course continued going to my home gym at Beulah – The Fit Club.

FitClub1_small

I love the quote below on the wall at the Fit Club.

20150114_184823

Where I work we also have a gym. It’s kind of stinky and old but it works. Especially since I am a fair weather person and don’t run outside in the cold.

20150202_181818

I have some more fun out-of-my-area fitness plans coming up and I can’t wait. I’ll be sure to share!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fitness Classes

  1. Katey911 says:

    I love Nicole’s energy. She does a great Zumba class too.

Leave a Reply

