How to Incorporate More Fruit In Your Diet

And when I say diet, I mean the food you eat every day. Everyone is all GMO, organic, vegan and I’m over here just trying to get healthier. It’s a struggle and everywhere you look someone is trying to tell you how to eat. But you do you. I have found that I feel best when I eat most whole, real foods – a mix of carbs, protein and fats. As I have changed the way I eat over the past couple of years, one area I struggled with was eating fruit. I’m not a huge fruit fan and would much rather eat veggies any day, any time. Here are some ways I started eating more fruit and finding out what I liked. I think the most important thing to take away is find what you like and works for you and it’ll be easier to make the change to healthy eating.

Eat more fruit

  • Buy what is in season and what is on sale. Generally these are the same thing. There are a TON of apple varieties. Luckily you only have to purchase one at a time to find if you prefer tart or sweet and crispy. I LOVE cantaloupe and watermelon in the summer. I was going through one watermelon a week for a while!

IMG_20150109_095212

  • Mooch. If you live with someone or go to eat with someone often, steal a bite of what they like. Or ask them their favorite fruit.

  • Dress it up. Add peanut butter to fruit, it makes an excellent dipper. Or add to your toast, oatmeal or cereal.

20140830_051304_thumb

  • Frozen fruit smoothies. I think what got to to really start eating fruit was by blending it into a smoothie. Bananas and berries freeze extremely well and are great in smoothies. You can often find frozen fruit on sale – just make sure it doesn’t have added sugar or syrup. If you freeze your bananas, be sure to peel and chop them before freezing!

20131110_111203_thumb

  • Add it to yogurt. This is probably my favorite way to eat fruit. I love it super cold and mixed into my plain or vanilla yogurt.

20150112_104912_thumb 

  • Add it to a salad. Citrus or berries are great additions to your salad. They add texture and sweetness. Or, you can try this fruit dessert salad I have posted before here. It has pudding and Cool Whip in it, but it is a great way to at least start eating fruit. I can think of worse things for dessert options!

20140703_152038_thumb

  • Dip it. Try dipping pieces of fruit in chocolate sauce or nut butter. That makes for a fun treat. Other sauces could be a yogurt sauce or a light cream cheese sauce.
  • Blend it up. Besides making a smoothie you can make a faux dessert by using your food processor and fruit. Frozen bananas process into a creamy ice cream like texture. I have also seen a recipe for processing frozen bananas and strawberries together. That sounds delicious. Try out my caramel banana split recipe here.

20140316_184108_thumb

  • Precut your veggies if possible. It’s just so much easier to grab fruit when it is washed and cut, especially if you are hungry or in a hurry.

20150130_194508

  • Frozen grapes make for a super refreshing snack too – especially in warm weather.

I hope these tips can help you if you are not a fruit fan and are looking for ways to eat some more on a daily basis. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Incorporate More Fruit In Your Diet

  1. jenieats says:

    Thanks for the tips! I actually don’t love eating fruit. With some exceptions, I have to force myself to eat it. I love eating veggies, though. I really need to try fruit smoothies.

  2. lexxie rae says:

    pretty much all i ate this summer was fruit and let me tell you, it really clears up your skin!

Leave a Reply

