Sriracha Chicken

If you know me, you might know that I get kind of obsessed with certain foods for a while. This usually will last a few months until I eat so much of that food I am sick of it. I can’t help it. Right now, I am really into Sriracha hot sauce. I put it on almost everything. I adapted this recipe to make into a stir fry, but it was originally a slow cooker recipe. I know people love slow cookers, but I’m not a huge fan. Don’t get me wrong, I love a roast or some soups in the slow cooker, but I am a person who really likes to cook most nights. If you want the original slow cooker recipe, you can find it here at DessertNowDinnerLater.

20141126_193430

This recipe is perfectly spicy and is also healthy. Two of my favorite things!

Sriracha Chicken, adapted from here

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts, thawed and cut into pieces
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried ginger
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup Sriracha (adjust more or less depending on your heat tolerance)
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 3 Tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes (adjust more or less depending on your heat tolerance)

Cornstarch Slurry

  • 1 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 2 Tbsp. cold water

Toppings for garnish (optional)

  • Sesame Seeds
  • Green onions
  • Cilantro

Instructions

  1. Whisk together the garlic, ginger, Sriracha, soy sauce, honey, vinegar and sesame oil. Pour 1/2 cup over your chopped chicken and stir to combine. Marinade overnight in the fridge if possible, or at least a few hours if you can. Keep the rest of the liquid separate in a Tupperware container refrigerated.
  2. Preheat a large skillet or Wok with a bit of olive oil (a teaspoon should be fine) over medium/high heat. Add chicken to sauté, dividing out chicken so you don’t overcrowd your pan. Once chicken is slightly browned and cooked, remove to a plate and repeat until all chicken is cooked.
  3. After the chicken is cooked, lower your heat to medium/low. Add back all of the chicken and your reserved liquid. Allow this to come to a boil. Add in your cornstarch slurry and bring to a boil until liquid thickens. Once it thickens to your preference, remove from heat and serve.
  4. Serve chicken with rice and/or sautéed veggies as desired along with the remaining sauce in the pan.
  5. Garnish as you wish with sesame seeds, green onion, cilantro, etc..

20141126_19281120141126_193121

The plain chicken and on the right with the sauce.

20141126_193439

This chicken served on a bed of brown rice alongside some green veggies makes for an excellent, healthy and filling meal. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

