Chobani Fruit Cups

Hi! Is anyone gearing up for a New Year’s Eve or Day party? If so, I have a great recipe idea for you. This appetizer is something healthier, so you can jump start your resolutions for 2015 to eat healthy. This appetizer is sweet and salty, my favorite flavor combo.

20141224_130038

I was recently challenged to come up with a unique, healthy recipe using Chobani yogurt as a key ingredient. A challenge is just what I needed to get my creative juices flowing to come up with a recipe. I cook and bake quite often and sometimes I just run out of ideas. I love yogurt and eat it daily. However, I know that some people are put off by yogurt, especially Greek yogurt as they feel it is too tart. I think I take care of that problem with this fun idea. I added a bit of Biscoff spread to the yogurt to sweeten it and give it a little bit of spice. The fruit salsa is sweetened with a bit of jam and honey and topped with cinnamon so all the flavors tie together. #MadeWithChobani

20141224_121845

Chobani Fruit cups are a healthy appetizer that you can customize to your taste preference. This is a 3-layer dessert. I list what I used below, but swap out your favorite fruit, yogurt flavor, nut spread or jam to fit your tastes.

Chips

  • 1 (6 1/4 oz.) bag of Oven Baked Scoops chips

Yogurt Spread

  • 2 (5.3 oz.) vanilla Greek yogurt Simply 100 calorie
  • 1/4 cup Biscoff spread (slightly melted)

Fruit Salsa

  • assorted, diced fruit to equal about 4-5 cups
    • I used 2 kiwis, 1 orange, 1/4 cup cantaloupe, 3 ounces raspberries and 5 large strawberries
  • 1 Tablespoon jam, I used rhubarb-strawberry
  • 1/2 Tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Dice your fruit into small pieces and mix together. Add in jam, honey and cinnamon. Allow the fruit to sit and macerate for at least an hour or overnight. Mix together the 2 yogurt cups with Biscoff spread slightly melted in the microwave so it becomes runny. This step could also be done a day in advance if needed. To assemble your appetizers, place Scoop chips on a serving platter and fill with a heaping teaspoon of yogurt mix and top with a heaping spoon of fruit salsa. 

Alternately, you could serve the chips alongside a bowl of the yogurt mix and fruit salsa and let guests make their own cups. The preassembled chips will stand up just fine for a few hours, but would get soggy if sitting too long.

The first option makes for a lovely presentation but the second option might be more reliable if you are at a party for several hours.

20141214_101549

You can likely find Chobani yogurt at any grocery store right beside all the other yogurt brands – Dan’s, Wal-Mart or at Krause’s here in Hazen.

 

Chobani

The photo above is the specific Chobani yogurt I used in this recipe. I wanted a plain flavor since I added Biscoff to the yogurt. I love vanilla though and thought it would make a perfect base for adding Biscoff. Plain yogurt could be substituted here.

20141224_124447

Here I am in my Mom’s kitchen mixing everything together. This appetizer doesn’t take too long to make – the toughest part is chopping the fruit.

20141224_125939

Here is the yogurt  in the scoops waiting to be topped with the fruit salsa.

20141224_130053

I made up a few bites to try before I served to my guests!

20141224_181139

The plate above is the second option for serving that your guests can assemble themselves.

20141224_181149

You can see we had just barely any food to serve along with the fruit cups. Ha! But please keep this in mind for a healthier option at your next get together. Enjoy this #MadeWithChobani recipe!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chobani Fruit Cups

  1. kate says:

    These were really good.

Leave a Reply

