Insanity

I am happy (and proud) to say that I finished one complete round of the Beachbody Insanity workout. It is fair to say this was the most difficult workout routine I have ever done. It has also, not surprisingly, been just as rewarding.

20141014_055845

The workout is dubbed as the hardest workout ever put on DVD. I don’t know about that, but it was a challenge. The website says:

Forget everything you think you know about high-intensity workouts. Because INSANITY turns old-school interval training on its head.

With Insanity you work flat out in 3 to 5-minute blocks, and take breaks only long enough to gulp some air and get right back to work. It keeps your body working at maximum capacity through your entire workout. You keep pushing your limits – so your body has to adapt. That’s how you get in such insane shape in just 60 days.

You start the workout doing a Fit Test by completing some basic moves you might see in other workouts – tuck jumps, push-up jacks, etc. You write down how many moves you get in a minute. The test takes about 30 minutes to complete and includes a break between each move to catch your breath. You do the Fit Test a few more times throughout the program to see your changes and progression. I improved at every test I took so that was encouraging to keep working.

20140930_061138

I could probably type up quite a few words to explain this workout program but I think I’ll highlight the positive, negative and in-betweens that I experienced. One thing I want to touch on is recently there was a woman at my place of my employment and we were chatting. I have never seen her before. We were talking about holidays and the food/indulgences, etc. She quickly dismissed my thoughts saying I was so tall and in shape I didn’t have to worry about anything. Ha. Ha. If she only knew! How crazy it is that we make assumptions about others? I am guilty of doing the same but it struck me since I was in the midst of this insane workout program.

20141119_060939

These are my thoughts so some of my positives might not work for you. I’m pretty much in pain in the photo above. Lol!

Positive

  • Melts fat, builds muscle
  • Effective
  • No equipment needed – everything done at home
  • You will see results if you follow the program
  • I personally like Shaun T (the instructor) and find him motivating
  • With the purchase of the program, you also get a nutrition guide, calendar to track your progress, and 10 workout DVDs
  • Strengthens the core

20141208_061208

Negative

  • No modifications are given, there are some fairly high-impact moves
  • Time – all of the workouts are one hour or less in time. There are a few instances where the plan calls to complete two workouts which equal  up to one and a half hours. I really feel most workouts shouldn’t be over one hour, especially for those in a time crunch. Not only that, it just gets LONG when you are doing this 6 days a week
  • Stretching – I kind of think they overdo the stretching and it could be condensed. I like how you jump into a workout to get you started and then do some stretching. You also cool down at the end with more stretching. That’s great but it eats up time
  • Not for beginners. I don’t consider myself super in shape or anything but there is no way I could have done this when I first started working out. I’d recommend trying something with lower impact moves, especially if you have a good amount of weight to lose
  • You commit 6 days per week to this program. I like to do other workouts so for the duration of Insanity I had a lot of days where I did 2 workouts. It is OK since I don’t really have much of a life (I’m sort of joking) but can really be a time suck if you have kids, a job or two, other commitments
  • You can only purchase through Beachbody and it is kind of $$ – keep in mind you can use the DVDs over and over again though

20141206_100847

In Betweens

  • Motivation – you have to stay motivated to complete this program. It gets really long doing 6 workouts every week. You have to push yourself
  • I have really enjoyed any Beachbody program I have used so far. I do not subscribe by thinking you NEED Shakeology or supplements or endurance drinks. I think if you eat a healthy diet and get your sleep, that is sufficient. If you are an elite athlete, you might need supplements but for the at-home workout, I personally do not think it is necessary. I have used and probably will use again Shakeology or other protein powders. I like them and it tastes good to me. I do not use it as a meal replacement but as a snack. I strongly feel the only thing to get you to lose weight and stay in shape is diet and exercise. Don’t fall for any gimmicks. It pains me to see people take shakes or pills to lose weight. I really feel it is not an effective long-term solution
  • Keeping up and keeping the muscle – struggle bus. I am concerned about keeping up my fitness level after being done with the program. As I mention, I don’t really want to commit to the 6 days per week at this level of working out. But I don’t want to lose the muscles I gained in this exercise program
  • You must push yourself – go the extra second, do the extra rep. If you can find that push within you, you will succeed

20141029_062906

Results

  • I didn’t go into the program with the intention to lose weight. I have a bit of difficulty with becoming too addicted to the scale and letting it run my emotions depending on the number. I did take my weight at the beginning and end and not in between. I went into this wanting to build muscle. I really wanted some arms with definition and to lose some of my belly pouch. I took some photos in just my sports bra and shorts but naturally, I am NOT going to share those here. I did notice and change and am happy with that. My belly really flattened out, my arms have definition (a difficult area for me to grow) and my legs got a lot stronger.
  • I feel in shape. Like probably the best shape I have ever been in? I feel like I could try any workout. At my spin class we did a few sets of pushups and I did all of them on my toes (verse doing them on my knees) and I felt so proud of myself. I have never done them all on my toes. That might not be to huge to you, but to me I was very proud and even had to text my Mom to tell her!
  • I didn’t lose any weight but my clothes fit better. I feel like I might have gained some muscles and lost some fat? Maybe things shifted a bit? It would be cool if I could have done a before and after body fat % test but that really isn’t of that much significance to me at this point in time

20141212_17264820141212_17265220141212_172657

IMG_4065

Forgive my hair – I just try to keep it out of my face when I work out and am trying to grow it out. Awkward.

IMG_4066IMG_4067IMG_4070

What’s Next

  • Like I said, I don’t want to commit so much time to working out. There are only a few weeks left until 2015 so I plan to continue to do some Insanity workouts, keep going to spin class and running as I can fit in the workouts between family and friend events.
  • Beginning in 2015 I am going to do Insanity Max 30. This is another Beachbody workout program you can do at home with moves similar to Insanity, but the workouts are only 30 minutes. Much more agreeable.
  • For this program I am going to focus a bit more on food and try to cut a few pounds. I still eat healthy most of the time but I need to work on my portion control. I’m super scared of gaining weight back and am trying to find a healthy balance between eating, enjoying myself, working out and relaxing. It is difficult!
  • I am already itching for spring so I can move my workouts outside but we have a while to wait for that yet. Treadmill workouts are quite boring to me but I’m a wuss when it comes to running outside. That and it has been quite slippery out. I really hope to try snow shoeing or cross country skiing yet this winter but we need more snow!
  • I’ll be sure to update the site once I finish Insanity Max 30.

I hope this is another stepping stone in my fitness journey. Some days I would prefer to just quit for a while but I know it would be hard to start up again. You lose fitness so quickly while it takes so long to gain in. I’ll check in again in a few months.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Insanity

  1. kate says:

    You look fabulous. But I know how dam hard you work at it too. Just so proud of you. Congrats on the pipes.

  2. Tracie B. says:

    You rock. I did Beachbody Hip Hop Abs a while back several times – Shaun T does those too, and I just love him. I think what keeps me from doing Insanity or anything else at a higher level is that feeling of needing to keep it up. I think you are doing a great job, and I love that you keep checking yourself to figure out the next best step. I also agree with you about the shakes and pills approach – it bothers me to see people do that, too. I just know anything I do has to be something I’m willing to do for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

