Hazen Wine Tasting, 2014

Just in time for the holidays, Krause’s Market and Hazen Bottle Shop, held the annual Hazen Wine Tasting on Thursday, Nov. 20 at the Hazen Golf Course. I really enjoy living in Hazen and don’t take for granted how lucky we are to have such a wonderful grocer and bottle shop in our small town. My husband and I look forward to this event every fall. It is just a fun, social time and an excuse to dress up and go out on the town drinking wine. Something we never do.

20141120_171910

I am sure if I had to wear heels on the daily it wouldn’t be much fun. Since I rarely (maybe 3x a year) get to wear heels and be “fancy”, it is kind of fun. Sorry for the blurry picture, my photographer was in a rush to get out the door. Anyway, he looked handsome and we were ready to try some wines and taste some appetizers.

IMG_4035

The event runs from 6-9pm and features great appetizers showcasing meal ideas and appetizers you could have for the holidays or meals at your home, available for purchase at Krause’s Market. They must put in a ton of time to get all of this food ready and so gorgeously presented. These were puff pastries with fruit filling and a sweet glaze on top. Perfect sweet bite.

IMG_4036

I didn’t get a lot of photos because the place fills up quickly and it is hard to get around, let alone try to get a photo of food while people are giving you the side eye wanting to dive into the food. These bagel chips were served with a dill dip.

IMG_4037

I always love fondue! This was a cheese fondue with a pretzel type bread dipper.

IMG_4039

Oh yeah, there was wine there too! That is the main focus of the night and you can taste anything from the fruity moscatos (which I prefer) to deep, dark reds. All the bottles are available to purchase that night, on sale or you can also visit Hazen Bottle Shop to pick out your favorite this week.

IMG_4040

This was a fun bite I haven’t seen before. It was sections of clementine, dipped in white chocolate and then covered with toasted coconut. They were divine! I bet kids would love these.

IMG_4041

Cranberries seem to be synonymous with Thanksgiving. For a slightly different twist, you could try this cold pasta dish that has spiraled pasta with a fruity poppy seed like dressing and is studded with crunchy almonds and slightly tart cranberries. Delicious!

IMG_4042

I honestly (and sadly) didn’t get to taste everything there – just so much food! But I had to take a photo of this platter with the cool apple ducks. This is probably something you could do for your centerpiece if you Google for some tricks I bet!

IMG_4044

Above on the left are wasabi crab bites served on English cucumber slices and the donut holes are pumpkin flavor. I remember on this table was my favorite bite of the night that I never got a photo of. It was a chocolate mousse dollop served in a tortilla scoop chip and topped with Kahlua spiked whipped cream and a dash of cinnamon I believe. So unique, different and the perfect size for a dessert bite. Love the sweet and salty combo.

IMG_4045

This gorgonzola mascarpone cheese tray with cranberries on it was also awesome. I’d just like to have my Thanksgiving meal catered totally by Krause’s please! Of course all the food they had featured there is available to purchase so be sure to head to Krause’s Market to stock up for your holiday celebrations.

IMG_4046

Naturally, we had to take home a few bottles of wine we tasted. I really prefer to drink beer, but I enjoy tasting wine. Maybe I will work my way up to more complex flavors, but for a beginner, I really prefer the sweet moscato wines. Both are very affordable, I think you can find them at the bottle shop for $9.99 each. The Rose N Blum is more berry flavored and the Italian Bubbles is a bit more peach flavored. If you live in the Hazen or Beulah area, this event is a DO NOT miss. Thank you so much to all the employees for your hard work in putting this event on! And if you need some food or wine for your Thanksgiving tomorrow – rush over there today.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hazen Wine Tasting, 2014

  1. How fun!! I am so thankful our local bar owner here LOVES good wine and regularly has a wine and cheese tasting weekend! It’s so much fun!!

Leave a Reply

