Brownie Peanut Butter Candy Cups

Do you have any leftover Halloween candy? We had a big bag still left. See, we handed out candy but then we got tired of trying to keep the dog away from the bell ringing door (he can be scary to some small kids) and running up and down the stairs handing out candy. So we bailed and went to the movies!! Whoops. Anyway, this is an excellent way to use up any leftover candy. AND if you ate your candy, it isn’t totally necessary for this recipe.

20141116_104950

This is a non-bakers dessert dream. Anyone could put this together. Super easy. We have a layer of brownies (I used a box mix), a layer of creamy vanilla pudding spiked with peanut butter and a layer of Cool Whip. Topping that loveliness is a bit of Hershey’s chocolate syrup and chopped up candy bars. I mean, who REALLY even likes Milky Ways or 3 Musketeers? I don’t. But they were good in this dessert. My husband had a social function to attend, so I whipped these up in individual cups so they would be easy to self serve. I think this would be a super cute and easy idea for a kid’s birthday party as well.

20141116_101936

Ah, look at all that candy! I threw in some Baby Ruths, Snickers and Twix as well so it wasn’t all just the gross candy. I got this recipe idea from Mr. Food on the morning news. I watch NBC’s Morning Show and then the beginning of the Today Show every single work day. I definitely always try to catch Mr. Food (I miss him!), the pet of the day and the question of the day on Country Morning Today. I really like JR Havens, I think he is funny. Anyway, I don’t always care for what they make on Mr. Food, but this recipe caught my attention. In fact, I have gotten a few keepers from that show.

20141116_102613

Brownie Peanut Butter Candy Cups, adapted from Mr. Food’s recipe. I served mine in individual cups but you could make this into a layered trifle as Mr. Food did.

What You’ll Need:
  • 1 boxed brownie mix to fit a 13×9 pan, any brand or flavor
  • 1 (6-serving-size) package instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 3 cups milk
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 1/2 cups coarsely chopped assorted candy bars
  • 1 (16-ounce) container frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • Hershey’s chocolate syrup, to taste

What To Do:

  1. Prepare brownies according to package directions for a 9- x 13-inch baking dish; allow to cool completely.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk pudding mix and milk until slightly thickened. Whisk in peanut butter until thoroughly combined. Refrigerate 10 minutes.
  3. Break up brownies into 1-inch pieces and place equally amongst 24 clear cups. Spoon on a big spoonful of pudding mix and another spoonful of whipped topping. Try to keep it equal on each cup. I had the perfect amount for 24 cups. Top with a squirt of chocolate syrup and cut up candy bars. 
  4. Cover and chill at least 2 hours before serving.

20141116_10330120141116_10353920141116_10395220141116_104726

Above is the process: brownies, pudding and then Cool Whip. Top with syrup and candy bars.

20141116_104936

It doesn’t get much easier than that and it’s a cute presentation. You can bet I kept one behind for me to eat! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

