Fit Survey

Hi! Here is a fun short post I basically copied from another blog and answered my own way.

What fit activities do you like to do together as a family?

My family consists of my husband and myself, our dog and cat. My husband and I do NOT workout together. It doesn’t really interest him and we actually do most of our hobbies separately. It works for us. I take the dog on runs, walks and bike rides when the weather is favorable. I really think it did help him trim off a few pounds and get in fairly good shape. I know in winter it will slack off but hopefully we will pick it up again next spring. He is getting old (9 years) so these runs and walks are really helpful to him.

20141029_062906

Why is fitness so important to you?

I want to live an active life and exercise is the key. It’s also become a hobby of mine and I find it enjoyable, even fun. It’s a release and definitely helps me keep a clear mind.

How do you motivate yourself to work out when you just don’t feel like it?

This is tough, no doubt. I work out every morning before work and most days, I want to fall back asleep. But I remember how I feel after it is done and that I will have my evening free to do what I want. I always make sure to set out my gear in advance and have everything ready to go – anything to save a few precious moments of sleep. I also think I’m getting a step up on everyone who is still sleeping. A lot of times I challenge myself to do a program or a certain workout and I don’t want to fail so I get up to do the workout. I workout at home in my basement so I don’t have to go outside in the elements and I always have a breakfast waiting for me. Sometimes that is motivation enough!

20141108_051819

This is the the first week of Month 2 of Insanity and I am loving it so far.

What is the top diet tip you’ve learned from the blog world?

I’ve learned so much about fitness and nutrition from reading online articles and blogs. I think the most crucial tip for me was to take time to actually measure and calculate my food for a week. I was way over estimating. I have always worked out, but I really needed to change the way I ate. I strive to get protein, carbs and healthy fat in every meal by eating mostly REAL foods.

As far as working out, you can read all the articles you want, but you need the drive and motivation to do the workout. I’ve seen other people be successful and lose weight and try new things so I thought why not me? They can do it, so can I!

20141116_110804

Healthy food prep was also another tip. I generally try to make a lot of food on the weekend so it is ready to grab during the work week.

What do you eat when you need a quick energy boost?

In the morning I like to have a banana, peanut butter, yogurt and maybe a pita. An afternoon snack is a rice cake with hummus and deli meat. These are my go-to snacks lately.

What the one treat you have to have, no matter what?

Popcorn. I love popcorn so much.

What’s your best stay-slim trick?

I don’t like this question. Slim? I prefer healthy. Anyway. Allow yourself treats. This is a constant struggle for me. I struggle with portion size – eating too much or not enough. But I’m not really an all or nothing person. I have to treat myself now and again so I don’t binge. I have learned to cook healthy food in ways that are more tasteful to me and that really helps me to eat my veggies and fruits.

20141114_174840

Working out at my work’s gym. But first, let me take a selfie.

Have a good day!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

