2014 Deer Season

Deer opener in North Dakota is nearly a national holiday! I grew up with my Dad hunting and making deer sausage and it is a meat I really enjoy. I took hunter safety classes as a kid, but I never really got into hunting at all. I mean I shot a shotgun one time and thought my shoulder might fall off. I’m also “girly” in that I don’t really care to be out walking tree rows in the freezing cold and trying to spot a deer. This has kind of changed since I met my husband, the great white hunter. That man would harvest almost any game there is. In fact, we were talking about dream vacations and his was a safari or big game hunt. He encourages me to go walking with him for pheasants telling me it is good exercise. This is true but I just would rather not.

20141108_165321

We are lucky to live in a rural area with a lot of mule and whitetail deer. I am even luckier that my husband has a friend with a lot of land and a deer stand that he lets me use just south of Golden Valley. That is more my kind of hunting. Let them come to me. My husband didn’t get a deer tag this year (he did get an antelope in October) so I felt the pressure to provide. I need to put meat on the table, you know? I was really hoping to get my gal (I always put in for a doe tag) early on the first Saturday of hunting. We saw nothing. But we were going to come back for the sunset hunt.

We were sitting in the shack and I was seriously about ready to fall asleep. My husband and his nephew were with to watch for any deer. Suddenly, my husband was like, here they come! I barely had time to get nervous! There were 2 does and 1 buck. I have no problem shooting a deer when they are with a buck or another female. I can’t do it if they are with a fawn. I do feel bad, but not that bad since we eat all the meat. I sighted her in and waited until I had a clear shot and bam. Got her! My husband and nephew drug her out of the woods. I helped but not much. My husband cleaned her and we got her home and he had her quartered and in the fridge just after dark. What a successful day. This is the 3rd deer I have shot and so far the biggest. We are seeing more deer this season than last season and I have seen some really nice bucks on my friends Facebook feeds.

We will enjoy the tenderloin and back straps and the rest of the meat will be processed into sausage this winter. We only have one pack of sausage left from last year’s hunt so I can’t wait. Taste testing is my favorite part.

20141030_172701

This was the week prior going target shooting. I have to say I love the .243 I use when we hunt. It is my father-in-laws which I think is special. It is a dependable and gentle gun, just like him.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Deer Season

  1. Katey911 says:

    Walking for pheasants is seriously good exercise. I don’t hunt but have gone a couple times with Hubs and holy cow. But I only go when it’s nice out!

    Congrats on your deer!

  2. kate says:

    You are so funny. Pressure to provide haha about falli g a sleep. Made me smile good write. I plan on tasting that sausage also.

Leave a Reply

