Almond Joy Cookies

Hello! I am super happy to share a guest recipe today. This is me writing, but this is my Mom baking. She was thoughtful enough to share a few photos and thoughts about this recipe. These are Almond Joy Cookies, named so because they contain chocolate, coconut and nuts – a great combo for the holidays!

1604984_592996054159342_1134363776962744174_n

This is the photo (above) from Facebook. There was no source for the recipe.

20141111951352352014111195135833

On the left are the sugars and butter ready to be creamed together. On the right is the mixture after adding the rest of the wet ingredients.

20141111_140438

And here are all the cookie ingredients mixed together, ready to be baked. I’d love to have some dough please. My favorite part, raw eggs be damned! Also, I have to note this blue bowl has made SO many cookies. My Mom has had that thing forever and has definitely gotten her use of that wonderful blue bowl.

Almond Joy Cookies – found from a post on Facebook, made by my Mom, Kate

1 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
4 eggs
3 teaspoons vanilla
4 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
5 cups chocolate chips
2 cups sweetened coconut
2 cups chopped almonds, or other nuts

Directions
Pre-heat oven to 375°F.
Lightly grease cookie sheets.
Combine dry ingredients, set aside.
In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugars together. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, stir in the vanilla. Stir in the dry ingredients until well mixed then stir in the chocolate chips, coconut and almonds. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto the prepared cookie sheets.
Bake for 8 to 12 minutes. Cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

2014111195140858

The cookies scooped and ready to be baked.

2014111195153817

And here are those gorgeous cookies all baked and ready to be eaten. How wonderful do they look? And in the words of my Mom: “A bit crunchy on the outside and soft inside. I used walnuts and baked them for 12 minutes.”

Thank you for sharing Mom. You are the best. I can’t wait to try these cookies. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Dessert, Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Almond Joy Cookies

  1. kate says:

    Thanks for the comment on the bowl. I was going to say something about it. The popcorn bowl cookies, the scrubbing soaking bowl. It has had many uses for sure.

Leave a Reply

