WIAW–What I Ate Wednesday

It’s time for another installment of “What I Ate Wednesday”. I like these little glimpses into what other people eat and I also like to look back on how I was eating at a certain time. I am guilty of getting hooked on certain meals and repeating them over and over. This is generally because I like the meal and/or ease of preparation. So here is what I am eating lately – these are all actually from yesterday so I could post on Wednesday.

20141111_070053

Breakfast at about 7:30am:

After I workout and shower I drink about 2L of water. I also heat up 1 egg/1egg white scrambled with green onions. I eat this on these awesome Joseph’s pita breads with Sriracha sauce. I fold it so it is like a taco because who doesn’t like taco-shaped food? I usually make up a few eggs on the weekend to eat throughout the week in the morning. This really saves me time during the work week. So far I can only find these pitas at Wal-Mart and if they have them in stock, I stock up. They aren’t really easy to find but I love the taste and nutrition on them. I eat almost everything with Sriracha, I’m obsessed. Yes, I know it has a small amount of sugar in it but not enough for me to really care.

20141111_070238

Mid-morning snack at about 10am:

Between my first breakfast and this snack, I drink another 3L of water. On my break at work I mash up a small banana and add this Myofusion protein powder to it. Mix it together really well and it becomes a thick, pudding like consistency. I love the vanilla flavor of this protein powder. I then add some vanilla Greek yogurt and cinnamon and mix it all together. I love this snack. I get the yogurt at Sam’s Club and portion it out over the weekend into ½ cup servings sprinkled with cinnamon to grab through the week. I don’t go to Sam’s Club every week (we live about an hour from the city), but when I do, I buy 2 of everything I like/eat to last a while.

20141111_120754

Lunch at about 12:30pm:

Lately I have been making the same lunch. I find it to be filling and healthy. I also make these meals up over the weekend and portion them out for each day. 6 oz. of grilled or baked chicken breast, about ¾ cup baked yams, 2 cups or so of veggies. My go-to veggies are broccoli or green beans. This week I had some added cauliflower in there. On the side I have a half-cup 2% cottage cheese and a boiled egg. I top my food with Sriracha and yellow mustard for some added flavor with minimal added calories. Sometimes after lunch (especially on days I work out a long time) I will have popcorn. We almost always have fresh popped popcorn where I work. It is one of my favorite foods so I treat myself. Popcorn isn’t the healthiest thing but it isn’t really TOO bad for a snack option.

20141111_140153

Mid-afternoon snack about 3pm:

I like to break my day up by food as you can probably see!? My afternoon snack is a rice cake topped with hummus and deli meat. Sometimes I add….mustard and Sriracha as well. I generally use lean turkey or ham deli meat. I know it is a bit high in sodium but I’m a work in progress! I had more water and a small popcorn treat.

20141111_182237

Dinner about 7pm:

Dinner just depends. I really do enjoy cooking for my husband and making meals he likes or appreciates. I try to keep it varied. If it was just me, I would like eat the same thing throughout the week for ease. This night I made us pork chops and veggies. I had another small sweet potato with my meal and I made him garlic toast. I do my best to not snack after dinner and drink some more water. I really try not to eat after 8pm (personal choice as I generally am getting ready to relax and try to get in bed by 9pm – hey, I get up early), and if I am feeling snacky I brush my teeth. That generally prevents me from snacking as I am too lazy to brush again.

I try to keep to a somewhat strict eating plan (healthy and I stick to it) during my work week. I have all my meals planned out and prepped. On Saturdays I try to keep it mostly healthy and on Sundays I eat whatever I want and it usually is NOT healthy. I am putting that out there in hopes I can get better at that. I used to eat really bad Friday – Sunday so at least I am improving. My plan now is to make a healthy breakfast to start me out on the right foot every Sunday a.m. I might make something I normally wouldn’t eat but still eat it in a normal sized portion. We will see how that goes…

Workouts:

I love to have a plan or a goal as it really keeps me focused on completing my workouts. Here is my current schedule.

20141107_175353

Monday – Saturday: Insanity. The workout varies depending on the day but is usually 40 minutes – 1 hour long. I just finished my first month and love it so far. I really like high intensity exercises and I feel like my body has responded with some added muscle and a little less belly. I can’t wait to complete it and maybe REPEAT it after the new year. I get up and do this before work, usually around 5 or 5:30am.

Monday & Wednesday: I go to evening spin class at the Beulah Fit Club. I usually run a couple miles and then we do a 45-minute spin session followed by 15 minutes of abs/core work, etc. I LOVE spin class, it is my favorite. I love the instructors, the people who go to class, everything. Usually I am super tired and grumpy come the end of the work day on Monday. But by the time I leave the gym I feel so much better and the exercise endorphins really did their job.

Friday OR Saturday: I try to get in a long (to me) run of 6-7 miles depending on my schedule. This has recently moved indoors to the treadmill as I cannot stand winter weather and am a serious wimp. I really want to keep my running up through winter so I can hopefully pick it up more easily in the springtime.

So that is what I am up to most weeks. It is kind of the same thing in and out but I am really enjoying it right now! Any healthy, easy-to-prepare snacks or meal ideas? Send them my way!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WIAW–What I Ate Wednesday

  1. kate says:

    Congrat you work very hard to eat right. I wish I had your will power. Your work out is impressive to me.

  2. Tracie B. says:

    You eat SO WELL. I’m not even talking about if it’s healthy or not. Everything looks damn tasty!

Leave a Reply

