Christmas lately

I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately. I haven’t wanted to blog or put the effort into creating new content. I think I have been a little burned out; I suppose it is bound to happen now and again. I also haven’t been feeling very well so that is part of my funk.

I’ve read and seen some disturbing (to me) articles and conversations that led me to take a little social media hiatus. The elections were definitely a part of that. Perhaps it is the North Dakotan in me but I don’t agree with talking about politics, religion or sex in such an open manner. If I ask you, or know you really well, sure. If you share your ideas and thoughts, sure. But when you cram it down my throat it really turns me off. We live in the greatest country in the world! Things could be better, but they could be worse most definitely. Can’t we all just get along? I know the answer is no, but a person gets tired of it all!  

I decided instead of doing something serious/controversial, I would just post something fun. I haven’t been cooking as much lately, so I need to fill up this blog with SOMETHING else. What has been on my mind lately is Christmas!! Yep, I have been thinking about putting up my tree and doing some shopping. We don’t have a huge celebration as I have a small family and no kids. It’s just us boring adults. We do a name exchange and pass around ideas to share. I ALWAYS have a list. I NEVER NEED anything, but always have ideas it seems like. I thought it would be fun to share a few ideas in hopes it gives you ideas for those on your wish list. I also need to come up with a unisex gift for about $20-25 to do in a gift exchange. My mind has been turning, but no ideas yet.

First up! (All the photos are linked to the website I found them in the paragraph below the photo.)

PJpants

PJ pants or PJ set. Such a simple idea but it’s one of those things (kind of like socks) that a person never buys for herself until there are holes in the last pair. This pair from Old Navy is something I’d like – they have tons of sizes, styles and patterns.

SlipperSlipper2

Slippers are up next. I personally like the style of this gray pair from Old Navy or the fun print from Kohls. Again – perfect for this time of year as you hopefully had yours stashed away for the past few warm months.

sportbra

As long as the gal you are buying for has a smaller chest, these sports bras from Target are a personal fave. They are cheap, super supportive for smaller chests and last a long time. I personally prefer the kind with the skinny straps as shown. The Champion C9 brand that Target has also features a ton of cute athletic gear for her.

Pyrex

Glass storage containers are nice as they are more durable than plastic. They don’t stain or melt when warmed up either. This is a great gift for someone who regularly packs her lunch. Whole sets can be quite spendy, so even a dish here or there makes a nice gift. This set is from Kohls.

Lot2029

Jewelry. I think MOST women like jewelry. But here is a secret. It doesn’t have to be FINE jewelry all the time. I love some inexpensive jewels and no matter what, they pretty much always fit. Bonus! There are a ton of fun boutique shops downtown that feature affordable pieces like this $11 necklace from Lot 2029 in Bismarck. You can almost always find sale or clearance prices as well.

mandoline

How in the world I love to cook so much but I don’t own a mandoline slicer is beyond me. This would just be nice when I need veggies cut at an even thickness. I really like to make homemade potato chips and this, from Kohls, would be perfect.

sweater

A sweater is a for-sure gift. Generally it is super cold everywhere you go, especially in the morning in ND. I love these open, flowy sweaters that are popular right now. They are easy to slip off if you warm up. This one is from Macys, I like the western-ish look.

Plaid

Long-sleeve button up shirts are nice this time of year, particularly where I work. I don’t have to dress up, but I want to look somewhat nice. I could easily wear a sweatshirt every day but even this casual shirt mixes it up a bit. Plaid is really popular, but I’d love this in a denim style as well. This is from Boot Barn.

leggings

Another winter look that is popular right now is leggings. Great with tall or short booties. I’d prefer a pair that is lined (again, winter), these fleece-lined ones look great.

Scarf

Another fashionable item to keep you warm – a stylish scarf, to go with jeans, leggings, whatever. Man, can you tell I am dreading the cold weather? I need to find me a winter job in the south! This affordable scarf is from JCPenney’s.

boots

I love to wear boots during the winter – Western, knee-high or ankle, but I don’t own ankle ones, yet. I like these from Forever 21 with the fun buckles. I’m already plenty tall enough so I don’t need much of a heel.

Gloves

I’m searching for some of these nifty smart touch gloves (so you can walk the dog AND check your smart phone while trying not to fall on the ice) to wear on small walks or on the way to work. These are only $5 at Wal-Mart. A matching ear warmer would be nice. I have a proper winter beanie but I like an ear warmer so your head doesn’t get super hot and it doesn’t mess up your hair.

fitness

Does your guy or gal like to work out? Or are they considering joining a gym? Guest passes to the Bismarck Y or Capital Racquet Fitness Center/BSC Aquatics Center is a great way to try out a facility. I love going to new to me classes in Bismarck and both of these facilities are a total treat as we don’t have many amenities in my small town.

candle     lotion

Maybe it’s cliché but most of us gals love good smelling candles or lotions. And you men probably enjoy us smelling good. Bath and Body Works always have some great scents for affordable prices.

So there are some gift suggestions if you need some ideas for your woman or girlfriend. I can easily think of things for myself but now I need to work on that unisex gift for $20-25. If you have any ideas or suggestions (not food related either), please send them my way!

Have a great weekend!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas lately

  1. jenieats says:

    Your Christmas list is fun! Gave me some ideas. I feel burned out too every once in a while. People can be mean online. I think the trolls are coming out of the woodwork this week:/ I love your blog and look forward to reading whatever you post!

  2. kate says:

    Oh Sarah berry we all get in a funk at times. Look at me I still feel bad abouf work. I miss it. I know you and dad were probably right. Uffda. The holidays can be very depressing for people. Too much going on too much pressure to be at everything to be perfect to get everything done. Just kick back and chill for a while. Can only do so much be so many places. You spread yourself pretty thin. Just take down time for you. You don’t have to be booked every weekend it is okay to not have anything to do.

Leave a Reply

