Crock Pot Chicken Enchilada Soup

This dish took me about 5 minutes to prep and dump into the slow cooker before I left for work one morning. It was so nice to come home to the house smelling good and a healthy dinner waiting for me.

20141020_190113

I think if I could have a Crock Pot meal like this on every cold, wintery day I’d do it. Just a little advance planning to make sure you have everything you need and you are set.

20141019_115032

Crock Pot Enchilada Soup – adapted heavily from Gimme Some Oven

INGREDIENTS:

6 boneless skinless chicken thighs (about 1 pound)
2 cups chicken stock or broth
1 1/4 cup (or 1 10-ounce can) red enchilada sauce, homemade or store bought
1 (16-ounce) can fat-free refried beans
1 (14.5-ounce) can fire-roasted diced tomatoes, with juice
1 (15-ounce) can whole-kernel corn, drained (I used frozen corn from our garden)
1 (7-ounce) can diced green chiles (I find this bigger can at Wal-Mart as we like them, but you could use a 4-ounce can instead)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 white onion, peeled and diced
1 Tablespoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon salt, or more/less to taste
1 teaspoon black pepper

Optional garnishes: chopped fresh cilantro, chopped green onion, shredded cheese, sour cream, tortilla chips, hot sauce

DIRECTIONS:

Add all ingredients to a slow cooker, and stir to combine. Cook for 3-4 hours on high heat or 6-8 hours on low heat, until the chicken is cooked through and shreds easily. Use two forks to shred the chicken and return to crock..

Serve warm, with optional garnishes.

You can also refrigerate in a sealed container for up to 5 days. Or freeze for a few months in a zip top bag or sealed container.

20141020_190108

Great one night for a stress free dinner. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crock Pot Chicken Enchilada Soup

  1. Vonnie Reinhardt says:

    Sara, I have made the Chicken Enchilada Soup twice already and everyone loves it! So easy to make too. Thanks for all your good recipes. I always enjoy seeing what’s new.

Leave a Reply

