Chili-Pasta One Dish Skillet

I have to admit that I’m not personally a huge fan of skillet dishes or casseroles. Sure, they can be comforting and especially warm on cold nights. But I don’t always like all the canned ingredients they call for. However, I am a fan of the ease of cooking these dishes and my husband really enjoys them as well. I thought this recipe was pretty solid looking and the ingredient list was ok. I’m happy to say it turned out great!

20141005_161035

This has the flavor of chili, a bit of pasta for staying power and consistency of a very thick stew. You could certainly adapt it to your taste preferences by adding other veggies, spices, etc.

20141005_152759

Chili-Pasta One Dish Skillet, ever so slightly adapted from Better Homes & Gardens

Ingredients

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 jalapenos, finely chopped
  • 1 15 ounce can red beans, rinsed and drained (could sub kidney, black or white beans)
  • 1 14 1/2 ounce can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 8 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup dried macaroni, any shape
  • 2 Tablespoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Garnish: shredded cheddar cheese, scallions, sour cream

Directions

  1. In a large skillet, cook meat, onion and jalapeno until meat is brown and veggies are tender. Drain off fat.
  2. Stir in beans, undrained tomatoes, tomato sauce, uncooked macaroni, chili powder, black pepper and garlic salt. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, about 20 minutes or until macaroni is tender, stirring often. Remove skillet from heat; top with your choice of garnishes and serve.
  3. Makes 4-6 servings.

20141005_154650

I used fire roasted tomatoes as that is what I had on hand, any would do. If you prefer your skillet dish to be more of a soup consistency, just add some water to your skillet.

20141005_161049

After everything cooks and mixes together, this is what it looks like.

20141005_161113

I topped mine with a bit of cheese and green onions. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chili-Pasta One Dish Skillet

  1. jenieats says:

    mmmm. . . great photos too! I like your plate:)

  2. Tracie B. says:

    Once again, pinned to my Foodie board. 🙂

Leave a Reply

