Buffalo Turkey Chili

Chili is definitely a warm fall dinner I look forward to. This wasn’t always the case though. I am NOT a fan of kidney beans and most of the chili recipes I see, have kidney beans in them. Not this one. This one is also healthy – of course, I served mine with chips and cheese, but it can be healthy if you keep those to a minimum.

20140928_173132

Only slightly adapted from Skinny Taste.

  • 2 20 oz. packaged lean ground turkey
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 6 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon ground paprika
  • pepper to taste
  • 12 pickled jalapeno rings (or to taste), chopped
  • 2 (15 oz.) can white chili beans
  • 1 (13.6 oz.) container fat-free refried pinto beans 
  • 1 cup chicken broth or stock
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup buffalo sauce (to taste)

Optional toppings:

  • shredded cheddar
  • chopped scallions
  • sour cream
  • cilantro
  • tortilla chips

Directions:
Heat a large deep nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Brown the ground turkey in the skillet and cook, breaking up the meat into small pieces as it cooks, about 8 to 10 minutes, or until cooked through, set aside, drain if needed.

Add the onion, carrot, celery, garlic, chili powder, cumin, paprika, a pinch pepper, and cook stirring until the vegetables soften, about 5 to 6 minutes. Add pickled jalapenos, white beans, refried beans, water and chicken broth, bring to a boil and simmer covered on medium-low about 10 minutes.

20140928_173113

Stir in the hot sauce and add the chicken, cover and simmer until thickened, 25 to 30 minutes, stirring occasionally until the flavors blend. Makes a boat load.

  20140928_173140

You could easily halve this recipe. When I am making soups or stews I prefer to make a big batch and freeze half for use another week or when I am busy. I found this got a bit spicier when I warmed it up the next day which was fine with me! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

