Big Batch Cookies

These cookies are a riff on a previous recipe I baked. My husband was lucky enough to draw an antelope tag and it’s tradition I make him cookies to take hunting. Good luck cookies, I suppose?

  20140928_133516

The original recipe is from Griggs Dakota website, called Momma Jane’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies, via The Pinke Post, only slightly adapted. This recipe makes a boat load and I just slightly altered it again. Depending on how big you make them expect at least 7-9+ dozen. The major difference I used here was browned butter and more brown sugar than white sugar.

  • 1 cup browned butter, cooled to room temperature
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 cups cake flour
  • 6(ish) cups baking chips (I used peanut butter chips, Skor bits and mini Reese’s Pieces)

Mix butter, oil and sugars. Add eggs one at a time. Beat until fluffy for about 5 minutes. Add vanilla, salt and soda. Mix well.

Add the flour and beat until mixed all the way to the bottom of the bowl. Do not over mix the dough. Add the chips and mix just until incorporated into the dough. Chill dough for at least 2-3 hours or overnight. You could freeze these in cookie dough balls at this point and bake later. Just straight out of the freezer and into the oven.

Drop by scoop onto a Silpat baking sheet. Bake cookies at 350 degrees for 9-10 minutes. Do not overbake!!

20140926_200400

You can see I melted my butter on the stovetop. You will want to do that to get the deep, dark melted butter flavor.

20140926_210417

I covered my dough with plastic wrap and left it in the fridge overnight. The dough will be pretty hard when you take it out of the fridge, but just use a cookie scoop to get your dough on your baking sheet.

20140928_11514420140928_120933

Before and after. Do not overbake unless you like crispy cookies. I prefer might crisp on the edges but chewy in the middle.

20140928_133506

Piles of cookies! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

