Healthier buffalo chicken nachos

Man I love nachos. They are just the best of all my senses. Crispy chips, melty cheese, spicy peppers, spiced chicken, hot jalapenos, cold served salsa. It just hits all the notes.

20140909_190755

But, in general, if you order these out, they are NOT healthy at all. So, make them at home and you can control the amount of calories in your nachos. Here is what I did.

20140909_182203

Healthier buffalo chicken nachos for one (more is pictured in the photos but I doubled this recipe for my husband)

  • 2 small corn tortillas
  • 1/2 tsp. olive oil
  • dash of seasoned salt
  • 4-6 oz. grilled chicken breast, diced
  • 3 Tbsp. buffalo sauce (or to taste)
  • 1/4 of a red onion, chopped
  • 1 Roma tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • 4-6 pickled jalapenos, chopped
  • 1 oz. pepperjack cheese
  • Fresh cilantro and chopped green onions for garnish

Heat oven to 400. Brush corn tortillas on one side with olive oil and season with salt, I used chili-lime seasoned salt. Bake for 5-10 minutes until browned and crisp. Remove from oven and break into bite size pieces with your hands.

Mix your chicken with the buffalo sauce and spread over your chips. Top with veggies and cheese. Stick in the oven for 5-10 minutes until warm and cheese melts. Garnish with cilantro and green onions. Eat!

20140909_18302920140909_184702

Instead of having fried chips, bake your corn tortillas until they are crispy. 2 tortillas and oil is just over 100 calories.

20140909_184239

You can load veggies on your tortillas to keep them healthy. I love these colors.

20140909_18582420140909_190528

Be sparing with your cheese since they is a lot of times where extra calories come into play. And can we talk about that fake cheese sauce places use? I hate that stuff. It just creeps me out! After I took my nachos out of the oven I topped mine with cilantro and green onions. I left cilantro off of the hubs side.

20140909_190820

Enjoy this healthier take on nachos. We have eaten these a few times already. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Main Dish, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthier buffalo chicken nachos

  1. Yum! These look delicious! I’ve seen people make nachos with thinly sliced sweet potatoes baked like chips. I’ve never tried it. But if it turns out anything like my sweet potato fries, they will be soggy! 😉

  2. kate says:

    Looks good.

Leave a Reply

