Thoughts during a run

In honor of the Bismarck Marathon being held today, I thought this would be an appropriate post. While I am not running the full, or even half marathon, I am participating in the marathon relay on my work’s corporate team. I have been training to make sure I can complete the run, and luckily, our group is running for fun and maybe a beer afterwards to celebrate!

My husband asked me the other week if I enjoyed running. I laughed and said no. But that isn’t entirely true. I explained my thoughts during a run and in general, this happens almost every time I go on a longer run. I set up a for example time line below. I don’t know if I am the only person who thinks this way? There is a good chance I am thinking these thoughts during the marathon.

First 5-10 minutes: Oh my God. Why am I doing this? I sound like a drowning rhinoceros. My breathing is so loud. I am so out of shape. This was a bad idea. I should just turn around now. Will this ever get easier? Certainly people in the next town must hear me breathing so hard. I’ll never make it the whole hour.

15-20 minutes: OK I can breath. This isn’t bad. Heck, this is kind of easy. I got this. What was I even worried about? It’s so pretty and nice outside! The birds are so gorgeous, they are so happy and chirping so nicely. The colors outside are wonderful. I love life and fitness! This breeze feels wonderful and the temperature is just great.

30 minutes: I could probably run a half marathon if I wanted to! Wheee!!

35-40 minutes: My God my feet are hot. Why are they so hot? Ugh, I am sweating through this shirt and hat. This hill must certainly be 500 feet long and high. I’m just going to slow down for a bit. Oh my gosh I still have to turn around and get back home. I’m never going to make it. I can use my cell phone and have my husband come pick me up, right?

Running Ecard

45 minutes: Why, no matter which way I go am I going against the wind? I didn’t even think it was windy out? It’s so windy! And it’s hot. The sun is so fiery. I’m too old for this crap. I should have tried this 20 years ago. Who am I kidding? This sucks. My knees are kind of sore. I’m old. I’m not running again after this week. Screw it.

50 minutes: OK, I am almost home/done. Thank you Jesus. I can hardly breathe. My lungs might explode? What if I have a heart attack right here on the sidewalk? I must be running a 15 minute mile at this point for sure. I hope I don’t see anyone I know. How embarrassing. Why do I do this? Why are those birds so loud? Stupid birds. I just want to get to my house and eat and shower. I hate being outside. I hate running. This is dumb.

60 minutes: Oh thank you sweet baby Jesus. I am home/done. I am so tired. I need a gallon of water now. Ugh, I am so sweaty. But I’m done. Yeah for being done and finishing and not having to quit.

65 minutes (after stretching out): Dang. That felt good. That was a good run. I feel so accomplished. I am going to eat something healthy and start planning my next run! Wheee! I love exercise, I love fitness. Let’s do this!! (At this point I totally forget all the bad things above.)

Anyone else? Just me?

Whatever your thoughts – good luck today to all runners!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts during a run

  1. kate says:

    Oh good gravy you afe a funny girl. I think some of that stuff when I walk. You do good even if you think funny things. Keeps us going right?

  2. Yep pretty much my thoughts exactly.. Except mine are LITERALLY per distance. It’s so weird how that works. I hit these plateaus where I am like Okay, it’s going to be okay. I feel pretty good. Then the next 1.25 mile I am like why am I breathing so hard? Oh my god, not going to make it. Maybe I will just walk. No I can’t walk….

    Yep. Running is SUCH a love/hate for me too! LOVED this post!

Leave a Reply

