DIY: Sugar free jelly, is it worth it

I can’t recall which magazine it is (Rachel Ray maybe?) but they compare two products to tell you which is worth it? For example, buying mini carrots or whole carrots and cutting them yourself depending on time, effort and cost. Well I have one of those examples for you today! I’m a nerd.

I eat peanut butter and jelly pretty much daily. Either in my yogurt or on toast or a rice cake. I just love the simplicity and classic taste. I had a container of strawberries that would go bad if they didn’t get eaten so I decided to try to make it into a jelly to see if it was worth it or not.

20140726_050858

On the left is my canned sugar free jelly and on the right is the Smuckers brand I typically buy at Krause’s.

20140725_063822

My jelly made with Jell-O turned out great. You could definitely taste the Jell-O but I wasn’t mad at that.

20140724_185829

Sugar free jelly

  • 1 small carton strawberries, cored and sliced ($2 IF you can find them on sale this would be the cheapest in our town usually)
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1 (3 oz.) package sugar free strawberry flavored Jell-O-O ($1)

Directions

In a saucepan add strawberries, water and Jell-O, mixing well. Bring mixture to a boil over medium heat, stirring frequently and slightly crush your berries with the back of your spatula. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 2 minutes.

Pour into jar(s), allow to cool and then cover. Store in refrigerator.

20140724_193503

The jelly turned out just fine. You can see it firmed up thanks to the Jell-O. Of course, the true taste of the strawberries was masked by the Jell-O somewhat. On the other hand, the sugar free jelly is also masked a bit by other ingredients.

My verdict? Buy the sugar free jelly. The jelly is usually right around $3+ for a jar. The same amount could be spent on the homemade version, but you must invest your time. Unless your berries are about to go bad and you don’t even want to freeze them I think buying is the better economic value here.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, Informational, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

