No churn blueberry cheesecake ice cream

We had a potluck at work and I always want to contribute something. I was trying to think of what to bring other than the typical (and delicious) desserts, pasta salads or dips. I looked at the grocery ad and blueberries were on sale for $1.88 per pint. I thought I could make blueberry bars or something maybe? But then I remembered I have a very busy week up ahead and I wouldn’t have time after work to bake. So then ice cream was the next natural solution. Except, I don’t own an ice cream machine. Which is a good thing. I don’t need an excuse to keep ice cream in my freezer!!

20140810_184325

I Googled around a bit and came upon this recipe for a no churn ice cream. Perfect – let’s give it a try.

20140810_112459

No churn blueberry cheesecake ice cream, adapted slightly from Cincy Shopper

INGREDIENTS
2 cups heavy whipping cream
14 oz. sweetened condensed milk
8 oz. cream cheese, at room temperature
2 tsp. vanilla
1 pint fresh blueberries (you could use frozen blueberries, about 2 cups worth)
3 tbsp. sugar
Juice of 1 lemon, about 2-3 Tbsp.

DIRECTIONS
Cook blueberries, sugar and lemon juice and salt over medium high heat. Bring to a boil, ensuring berries crush and release juice. Allow to boil until it starts to thicken. Remove from heat and allow to cool completely then chill in refrigerator for about 1 hour.

In a large bowl, beat cream cheese until creamy and smooth. Using an electric whisk, add condensed milk and vanilla, whisking until smooth. Add in heavy cream. Whisk on high speed until soft peaks form.

Spread half of this mixture into a loaf pan. Spoon half of the chilled blueberry sauce over the whipped mixture. Top with remaining cream mixture, spreading evenly and then the other half of the blueberries. Using a knife, drag or swirl the blueberry mixture into the cream mixture. Cover with foil and freeze for 6 hours or until firm.

20140810_16182120140810_162308

I set two little ramekins aside for my husband and I to taste test.

20140810_162707

The hardest part was waiting for the blueberries to cool. Honestly, this comes together so easily. We loved it. And – if you have any leftover citrus butter cookies, they are wonderful crumbled on top. I could even see the cookies being crumbled in the ice cream. But where do you draw the line, right?

20140810_162712

The swirled look of the ice cream also makes it look impressive.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No churn blueberry cheesecake ice cream

  1. kate says:

    This sounds so good. I love blueberries.

  2. Oh my gosh, this looks delicious!!! I would imagine with strawberries it would be wonderful too!

  3. Pingback: How To Make Your Own Potatoes Au Gratin | – Baking Dish Recipe Heaven – Just like momma used to make!

Leave a Reply

