Candy Scotcharoos

Sometimes I have recipes I bookmark from other websites that I make just as they are, sometimes I alter them slightly and sometimes I change them to specifically cater to what I have on hand and/or what is one sale. Such is the case with these scotcharoos with a candy bar icing. Generally, the scotcharoos I ate growing up was a base of rice krispies and the frosting was melted chocolate and butterscotch chips. This is a little different.

20140712_173551

The scotcharoo has Cheerios as a base and it is topped with candy bar icing. Cheerios and Hershey’s candy were on sale this particular week so I gave it a go.

20140712_152722

Disregard those marshmallows. I had an idea to use them but skipped it. I liked these so much I made a pan for my house and a pan for a friend who just had a baby girl.

Candy Scotcharoos, inspired by I Am Baker

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup corn syrup
  • 1 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 6-7 cups Cheerios cereal

Frosting

  • 3 full size Snickers bars
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2-2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 bag fun size candy, any flavor, chopped into pieces (I used Hershey’s toffee/almond candy bars)

Instructions

  1. Prepare a 9 x 13 pan using baking spray or parchment paper.
  2. In a large pan, combine sugar and corn syrup and cook over medium heat until boiling. Boil for a minute and remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter until smooth.
  3. Stir in the cereal and gently pat the cereal mixture into the prepared pan.

Frosting

  1. Melt three full size Snickers bars with 1 stick butter in a saucepan over very low heat for about 5 minutes. Once melted, remove from heat and add powdered sugar then the milk.
  2. Pour warm frosting over bars and sprinkle chopped candy bars over frosting, allow to set for at least 3 hours.

20140712_160248

The 14 oz. bag of Cheerios will make 2 pans of bars so it’s only natural to double up this recipe.

20140712_162612

The gas station where I got snickers only had these double packs (?) so 2 packs of those will work fine in the frosting recipe.

20140712_162622

The bars would be good just as this without frosting, but let’s not be silly.

20140712_16345620140712_164421

The hardest part of this recipe is unwrapping all those candies.

20140712_165650

I put my candy bars on the warm frosting so they melted into the bars. You could let the frosting cool a bit first if you didn’t want your candies to melt.

20140712_173544

If you are looking for a fun twist on the regular scotcharoos, give this a try! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

