Griggs County Chocolate Chip Cookies

OK. There are tons of chocolate chip cookie recipes out there. This is a good one. Trust me. In fact, my husband declared these THE BEST COOKIES, well, other than Monster Cookies which always win. I saw Katie Pinke of The Pinke Post link to this recipe on Twitter. The original recipe is found on the Griggs Dakota website and goes by Momma Jane’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookie. I renamed it Griggs County Chocolate Chip Cookies. 

20140622_155406

Recipe from Griggs Dakota website, called Momma Jane’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies, via The Pinke Post, only.  slightly adapted. This recipe makes a boat load. Depending on how big you make them expect at least 9+ dozen.

  • 1 Cup Butter (room temperature)
  • 1 Cup Oil (I used vegetable oil)
  • 1-1/2 Cup granulated sugar
  • 1-1/2 Cup light brown sugar
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3 Cups all purpose flour
  • 2-1/2 to 3 cups cake flour
  • 6 Cups baking chips (I used mini chocolate chips, butterscotch chips and Reese’s Pieces)

Cream butter, oil and sugars.

Add eggs one at a time. Beat until fluffy.

Add vanilla, salt and soda.

Mix well.

Add the flour and beat until mixed all the way to the bottom of the bowl. Do not over mix the dough.

Add the chips and mix just until incorporated into the dough.*

Bake cookies on parchment covered cookie sheet at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 8-10 minutes.

*I did chill my cookie dough for an hour or so while I did another project, but that is not necessary in the original recipe. I do think they would bake up well if chilled overnight, or even freezing the dough. Let cookies cool to room temperature and they freeze wonderfully and work as great treats to share.

20140622_16240720140622_170445

You can see here from these photos that the batter will fill up your Kitchen Aid stand mixer. Love that. I always think if you are going to bake, make it worth your time.

20140622_17170420140622_171709

Before and after. I made mine on the larger side since there was so much dough.

20140622_183753

I generally cool my cookies on a rack and then let them rest on newspaper before storing them.

20140622_183806

I don’t bake too many treats more than a handful of times. This recipe will be going in the keeper file. My brother, mom, well everyone who tasted them loved them. Thank you for sharing Katie. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Griggs County Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. These look fantastic. I’ve never tried using cake flour before. I also love Katie’s blog!

  2. Pingback: Big Batch Cookies | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

