Healthy fruit salad dessert

Hi – I’m here today to share a (mostly) healthy dessert with you today. I know some people don’t care for things like Jell-O pudding or Cool Whip from a tub. I am not one of those people. I got the base of this recipe from my co-worker Jeremy, but you can use any fruit/flavors and make it your own. This is an excellent, cool and refreshing treat to share on these warm summer days.

20140704_110559

I decorated mine like the American flag for the 4th of July but you obviously don’t have to do that. But why not? It was cute. This was on the banks of the Missouri River in my parents backyard by Washburn. Such pretty views!

I didn’t really know what to call this. It was kind of a salad (fruit salad) but kind of a dessert (pudding and Cool Whip) so fruit salad dessert it is. It also makes a pretty good breakfast I must say.

20140706_135903

Like I said, I made this for a 4th of July get together. It was all gone and I still wanted more! I halved the recipe and it also turned out great in case you aren’t looking to feed a crowd.

20140706_141338

My goodness, the fruit has been so good this summer!

Healthy fruit salad dessert

Ingredients:

  • Large strawberry yogurt (32 oz.) or any other flavor you prefer
  • Two containers (8 oz. each) of Cool Whip (light or regular)
  • Two small boxes of sugar-free cheesecake instant pudding (vanilla, banana cream or white chocolate would also work)
  • 1 container strawberries, hulled and chopped
  • 1 container of raspberries
  • 1 container of blueberries
  • 2 bananas, chopped

Put the yogurt in a bowl and mix with the pudding. (It will look a bit curdled.) Add Cool Whip and fold to incorporate. Mix in the fruit gently so it doesn’t break up. Alternately, you could layer fruit, pudding mix, fruit, pudding mix and top with more fruit for a nice presentation.

20140703_152038

The perfect summer treat. I can’t believe it’s already about August. Make this while the fruit is still fresh and on sale! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dessert, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthy fruit salad dessert

  1. Pingback: How to Incorporate More Fruit In Your Diet | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

