T25 final

It has been 10 weeks and I completed the Beachbody T25 Challenge. I checked in 5 weeks ago after I did the Alpha phase. These last 5 weeks was the Beta phase. I loved it and I loved the workouts. I feel stronger and more lean since beginning 10 weeks ago. I liked having the challenge of the workouts and my Facebook group where we post pics, updates and motivation between us.

20140530_061013

Lots of workouts.

20140627_063314

Lots of burpees.

20140623_061211

A lot of squats.

20140526_150917

Lots of good, healthy food.

20140512_181119

A lot of sweat!

20140530_06294820140623_061652

And a lot of feeling of accomplishment!

20140627_061622

My calendar of a Nailed or Barely Made my workouts. I really struggle with push ups. Definitely my weakness.

I feel like I could go on and on about this program. But I think it really changed the way I look at fitness and food. I have been overweight basically my whole adult life. Probably like 21 years old and forward. I am nearly 35 years old and I feel like I am in better shape than I was in high school and I weigh LESS. I lost a total of 17 pounds during the 10 week program. Why or why did it take me this long? I don’t know. I guess I wasn’t ready before. I wasn’t ready to give up food, drinks and other vices. I am ready now. I want this for me and my life quality to be better. Below are some bullets of things that made this program work for me. Oh and I am totally a work in progress. I have slip ups and super bad days, but they are getting fewer and fewer.

20140627_063255

In regards to any fitness program you might be trying here are a few of my tips!

  • Don’t wait for Monday to start a new way of eating or a new exercise program and cram all weekend with bad stuff. Start now! It doesn’t have to be a Monday!
  • I eat all foods – carbs, protein, fats, etc. I find I can’t limit myself to low carb, especially if I want to work out. It doesn’t work for me. I try to keep my fat intake from healthy fats. Try not to be too limiting or it will backfire.
  • Do what works for you – Paleo, vegan, pilates, CrossFit – find your passion and it’ll be easy to workout and eat healthy and you will look forward to it!
  • Belly fat – I had it. I still have it. I didn’t think it would ever go away. But it has really diminished. I am so happy. I attribute that 100% to cleaner eating. It can be done.
  • Sneaking bites – don’t sneak bites if you are trying to lose weight. Everything counts. Measure and weigh your food. A kitchen scale is only about $20.
  • HRM – a must in my opinion. There are times when I think I am really pushing it and look at my watch and I’m not. I think a monitor will really guide you in seeing where your heart rate is and if you need to push yourself a little more.
  • Use proper form, otherwise you are cheating yourself. Put in the time and effort to do your exercises properly. If you are making the effort to workout you must give it your all to see results. Shaun T gives an example in one of the DVD’s when you are doing tricep dips that if you are just moving your butt, going through the motions, you aren’t doing the exercise properly and it will not get you results. And don’t take breaks! Even if you are going slow, you are still going.

20140627_063333

Setbacks – I’ve had them.

Obviously, I wasn’t, nor ever will be, perfect on eating just right and never drinking. I had a few times where I made poor choices, but you only live once. I don’t want to be too hard on myself. I love beer and I don’t plan on giving it up. BUT, I am much more decisive on when it is “worth” it to me. A random Thursday? No? A Thursday when my sister is in town and we get to the city? Sure – I’ll have a few. But I can stop then too. There are definitely occasions when I won’t stop and will enjoy myself though.

I kind of beat up on myself when I recently baked some cookies. Since starting T25, I have been really good about not sneaking bites or sampling my baked goods. But these cookies were different. I made them and that was all fine. But towards the end I had some batter, and some more. (I love raw cookie dough!) Then I had a baked cookie. I usually never eat the baked cookie. So, while I had more than I wanted, I did stop myself and recognize where I was headed.

The think I have to ask myself is if it is worth it. I love fried food. Who doesn’t? Really?! But, after the initial enjoyment (and love), I feel icky afterwards. I feel bloated, sometimes guilty and get a heavy pit of grease in my stomach. It generally isn’t worth feeling that way. And the next day is always worse. If I have a workout planned I swear I can feel that food sitting in my stomach. Real, clean foods are better for me. When I do mess up, I am sure to get back on track. It is a mental struggle and I am still learning how to have balance. I try my best to keep unhealthy food out of my house so I am not tempted. My husband can actually do portion control and has his snacks but I look at those as “his” and off limits to me.

IMG_3947

And now for some funnies. I can’t be serious all the time.

  • Instead of dropping $100 at the bar on a random weekend, I am getting up early to get in my bike/run before the day starts
  • Instead of calculating how many hours I can get in at happy hour, I am calculating what time to go to bed so I can get 8 hours of sleep
  • Instead of buying a ton of processed chips and chocolate, I am buying a ton of veggies and lean proteins (and still some sweets and chips!)
  • Instead of packing snacks for the weekend, I pack healthy foods
  • Instead of drinking a huge fountain pop, I make sure to get my water intake in
  • Instead of jeans being too tight on my belly, they are tight on my calves and quads

20140620_183540

So what’s next for me? I seem to always need a goal to keep me going. I am hoping to really work on my arms getting bigger. They are definitely a self conscious area for me and I want to be proud of them this summer. I am going to repeat T25 while also upping my cardio by biking and running while it is still nice outside and I can be outdoors doing stuff. I also hope to swim. This is something totally new to me and I seriously suck. But I took a lesson this past weekend (Bismarck Aquatic Center is gorgeous!) and hope to improve my form and endurance. I really want to work on my eating and finding a balance so I don’t binge, but also enjoy things in moderation. I don’t want to be so strict and a fuddy duddy. It’s a fine line as I am truly terrified of gaining weight back. Ugh.

20140628_100614

I will try to check back in in a few weeks with another update. I really hope people can find something like T25 or a fitness passion like I have found. I feel so much better than I did 10 weeks ago!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T25 final

  1. Tekesha says:

    Good for you! You look and sound super happy! 🙂

  2. Tracie B. says:

    You rock. I just took a month or so “off” and now I’m getting back on track. It’s so easy to start sliding in a comfort zone. You are inspiring and I’m so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

