Spiced chicken breast with mango salsa

It is a little difficult to tell in this photo, but there is chicken breast under that pile of fresh mango salsa. Just trust me on that one. The chicken is marinated in a spicy (not hot, just flavorful) rub overnight with Mexican inspired flavors. The next day, the chicken is grilled and topped with a sweet, tangy and spicy mango salsa. Fruit in salsa seemed weird to me too. I had a mango to use up though so I thought I’d give it a try. We loved it!

20140505_192200

Don’t be intimidated by the seemingly large amount of ingredients. You can adjust to your taste preferences and most of the spices are pantry staples. This is easy to put together and so worth your time. I never thought I’d like a sweet fruit in my salsa but I was wrong. So very wrong.

20140509_173910

Ingredients, inspired by SkinnyTaste:

  • 16 oz (2) boneless skinless chicken breasts, trimmed
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 3-5 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried ginger
  • juice and zest of 1/2 lime
  • 1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro

Season the chicken breasts with salt and pepper on both sides. Combine all other ingredients in a small bowl and mix until incorporated. Rub over all sides of the chicken breast. Cover and marinade overnight, or at least for a few hours.

For the mango salsa:

  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • juice and zest of 1/2 lime
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • salt, to taste
  • 1 ripe mango, peeled and diced (you could sub cantaloupe, watermelon or strawberries here quite nicely I think)
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, minced
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped (keep seeds if you want it spicy)
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, chopped and seeded
  • 3 green onions, chopped

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine the red onion, lime juice, olive oil and season with salt, to taste. Mix well then combine with the remaining ingredients; refrigerate until ready to serve.
Heat the grill or a grill pan to medium high, discard the chicken marinade and grill the chicken breasts about 7 minutes on each side, or until the center is cooked through (really depends on your grill). Transfer to a cutting board and cut the chicken into bite sized pieces. Serve the sliced chicken topped with mango salsa.

20140510_133651

I made this twice already which is why there are two different plates served with different veggies. One time I added a few strawberries to the salsa and that was lovely.

20140505_192213

You might have bad breath from the onions, but so will whoever you are sharing your dish with. The chicken is moist and flavorful but the salsa is so fresh. I don’t know which I liked better! I did have to Google how to cut a mango but it isn’t that bad once you watch a video.

20140505_192240

Enjoy this perfect summer dish full of fresh flavors!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

