Liebster Awards and fun facts

Hello! I was tagged by Jeni, of Jeni Eats for the Liebster Award. This is a virtual way for bloggers to recognize other bloggers. According to the official rules, any blog with under 1,000 followers or subscribers is eligible for the Liebster.

Nominating blogs for the Liebster Award is essentially like playing tag. Bloggers can choose to pass it on if they wish, but they are certainly not obligated to participate.

 

LiebsterAward

I choose to play along! As with most social media, it is kind of weird because of course, I don’t actually “know” Jeni. I never met her in real life. But we’ve Tweeted, IG and commented on each other blogs. I feel like I kind of know her and no doubt would love to go eat somewhere with her. I like how she keeps it real on her blog and she has just as many recipes posted as funny posts and restaurant reviews. Thank you for the nomination Jeni. Here are her questions for me:

What’s your blogging mission?

My mission is to share my food & drink, fun adventures & fitness on my blog. I tend not to post anything too “heavy” or introspective for the most part. I like to keep it fun, upbeat and share what I do in my leisure time in my corner of the world in Hazen, ND.

What drove you to start your blog?

At first it was to share recipes and it has since evolved a bit. I lived away from my Mom & Dad (about 4 hours) and thought this would be a good way to keep in touch.

What would you like to write about more often?

I would actually like to write more about fitness and losing weight but I am still figuring that all out myself. I don’t want to post too much and seem like a know-it-all or better than anyone. I’m definitely a work in progress!

What always makes you laugh?

My husband cracks me up. But my sister always makes me laugh. When I am with her we are probably the 2 most annoying people around to everyone else. We just “get” each other. I also love animals and their playful behavior makes me laugh.

What are your top three personal favorite blog posts (not necessarily the ones that get the most views)?

My one-year health anniversary – a huge milestone for me that received (much to my surprise) some great feedback

Raspberry crumble pie – my first totally homemade pie I baked (maybe my only?) I was proud

IMG_1892

Cass Clay Hometown Throwdown – a recipe contest I attended for a chance to win $5,000. Spoiler, no win – but it was a lot of fun!

If you could see any musician perform live, who would that be and why?

This was the toughest question for me. I really love country music but have seen most people I really like already. I love P!nk and got to see her earlier this year. I’d maybe like to see Johnny Cash back when he was in his prime and I could travel back to that era.

What’s your favorite hometown food or restaurant?

It no longer exists but Renee’s Corner Café in Sawyer, ND was my first job and where I learned a lot about food and friends. This was the town I grew up in and loved. Renee’s was such a quintessential small town café. I miss that place and those times. All of us kids LOVED the frozen and then fried pizza pockets with fries and homemade ranch dressing. The days where we could eat it whenever we wanted and still be in good shape! Yes – we are the Sawyer FLASHES, not flashers.

As for right now, I love the Little Bar & Grill in Pick City for an excellent burger or steak. You can’t beat the small town atmosphere and service. The steaks are huge, cooked to order and the salad bar has homemade items in the summer.

Little Bar & Grill Logo

How do you fight writer’s block?

For me, that is mostly recipe posting. I do get tired of cooking or baking sometimes. I find it best to quit baking/cooking or just stick to what I know. Then I get bored and think of more things to cook it seems like! Fun surveys like this are also a great way to fill a void and write about other topics!

What advice do you have for new bloggers?

Like Jeni said, be true to yourself. You are an individual by being YOU. Don’t try to copy anyone, just take influences and make it your own. I can’t give much advice since I’m definitely not a pro. I feel you can really grow your blog if you interact and converse with other bloggers via comments and social media. Right now, that is not a priority for me but I think it would really work. Maybe one day I’ll make more time for it!

What are three essentials you always stock in your fridge?

I always have at least one cut up onion ready, almond or coconut milk and mixed vegetables/fruit.

Who’s one of your childhood heroes?

My parents I guess! They were great role models for me. I mean, I think I turned out ok?! I also adored both sets of my grandparents. Grandparents are the best. I learned a lot of baking from my maternal grannie and my paternal grannie made some great Norwegian and German foods.

I am not going to nominate anyone else – but like I said, this is a fun way to play along and let your readers know more about you. As part of the nomination, you should also list 11 random facts about yourself. Here are mine and thanks again Jeni!

11 random facts

1. I cracked my head open on my 1st grade field trip. They had to load the whole bus up and take me to the ER.

2. I have a Master’s Degree.

3. I can touch my tongue to the tip of my nose.

4. I met my husband at a chili cook-off. We’ve been together nearly every day since then. He proposed at the same cook-off two years later.

20140525_172302

5. I am on the tall side, about 6’ when wearing shoes.

6. I am the middle sibling, the peacemaker. I have an older brother and a younger sister. We are all close in age.

7. I received my undergraduate degree in 3 years.

8. I am named after my great grandma, Sarah. My middle name is after my Mom and Grandma, Ann.

9. I love to work up a sweat! My favorite exercise is spinning class or biking.

10. I am a big believer in setting goals and positive thinking leads to results.

11. I played basketball overseas when I was in high school – Belgium/Netherlands and Ireland. I’d love to redo those trips!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in FeistyLife, Misc, Other sites. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Liebster Awards and fun facts

  1. It was fun to learn more about you and it’s been fun becoming friends on Twitter. That raspberry crumble is calling my name this morning.

  2. Katey911 says:

    You look fantastic in that green dress!

  3. kate says:

    Glad she elected you. It was a fun post. You do a good job.

Leave a Reply

