Grapefruit Bread

I’ve never heard of grapefruit bread. Have you? Actually, I have never actually eaten a grapefruit. I have tried it but to me it is too tart and tastes kind of like champagne which I also do not care for. However, I had a grapefruit to use up from my Bountiful Basket. I can’t waste food so I searched for a bread recipe I could whip up after work one night. I was very happy with how this turned out – in looks, taste and texture.

20140506_210924

I imagine using the recipe you could swap the grapefruit for other tart fruit such as lemon or lime and I also think the sour cream could be swapped with yogurt. Lots of ideas to try! The bread sure looked pretty with the thick glaze, sugary zest and super moist interior. I cut this in slices and sent it to work with my husband to share.

20140506_190323

I love recipes I can make with things I already have on hand.

Grapefruit Bread, barely adapted from Simply Scratch

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons grapefruit zest
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons freshly squeezed grapefruit juice, strained
  • 1/3 cup salted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1-1/2 cup AP flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons milk

FOR THE GLAZE:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 heaping tablespoon sour cream
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon grapefruit zest
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and line a bread loaf pan with parchment paper, then lightly spray with cooking spray.

In bowl on your mixer, combine the sugar and the two tablespoons of grapefruit zest. Mix until zest is fully covered with sugar, about 1 minute. Add the melted butter and beat for 2 minutes. Add eggs and beat for 3 minutes until light and fluffy. Add in the grapefruit juice until incorporated.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt and baking powder. Give it a whisk to remove and clumps. In a small bowl or measuring cup; combine the sour cream and milk and stir until combined. Starting with the flour and ending with sour cream/ milk mixture. Alternate half of each until everything is mixed in well.

Pour the cake batter into the prepared pan and bake for 45-55 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. Let the cake rest in the pan for 10 minutes before running a knife along the edge and using the parchment paper to lift the cake out of the pan. Let the cake cool completely on a wire rack. Mean while make the glaze by combining the powdered sugar, sour cream and thinning it out with the milk. In a small bowl, combine zest and sugar and combine with fingers until fully combined and it looks like wet sand.

Drizzle the glaze over the cooled cake. Immediately sprinkle sugar/zest over the glaze. Let the bread sit to harden for a few minutes. Slice and serve! Cover and refrigerate any leftovers.

20140506_191054

I ended up only using one grapefruit. My fingers smelled amazing after zesting and juicing this fruit. A perfect spring dessert!

20140506_19222120140506_192546

The batter is light and fluffy. You will need a spatula to spread it out in your pan.

20140506_194434

I only used 1 tablespoon milk in my glaze to keep it thick. On the right is the sugared zest.

20140506_20330820140506_210139

The loaf all alone and then with the thick glaze.

20140506_21014920140506_210500

And here is the bread with the glaze and then the sugared zest. Pretty!

20140506_210515

Use your parchment you lined your pan with to put under your wire rack to catch any drippings. Also, I was watching Food Network’s Chopped while I made this. Perfect.

20140506_210918

Do you like the butt end? This is a favorite slice in our family. The interior was perfectly moist.

20140506_211554

I used that parchment one last time to line a Tupperware dish to put the slices in for sharing the next day. Give this a try – it isn’t everyday you see a grapefruit dessert. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grapefruit Bread

  1. I’ve used grapefruit in baking before but not worked out. This looks delish!

  2. I do like grapefruit and this looks amazing, I’ll need to try this, thanks

  3. This intrigues me! It looks GORGEOUS and plus I am a sucker for ANYTHING grapefruit. I LOVE them!

Leave a Reply

