Bountiful Baskets

I might be a little behind (perpetually) but I finally signed up for and received a Bountiful Basket. I might be the last person in Mercer County to do so? Not sure?! Anyway, here is the scoop on Bountiful Baskets if you have not yet participated.

  • You sign up the Monday prior to the weekend you are going to pick up your produce. In Mercer County you can pick from Stanton or Beulah as a pick up point. I choose Beulah this particular week. If you get an account online, just be sure to check each week as the pickup location sometime changes from Stanton to Hazen or even locations within the city.
  • The Beulah pick up time was listed as 9:15am and you must appear with your printed receipt in hand within a 20 minute time frame.
  • You are asked to volunteer at the site every 3-4 times you get a basket to help set up and distribute items. We volunteered for our 2nd basket in Hazen and it was fun to see how it is all put together.
  • You must pay online with a card when you sign up.
  • Baskets are $15 each plus a fuel fee depending on where you pick up. There is also a one time minimal admin fee. My first basket was about $25. Each one after is about $20.
  • You don’t know what will be in your basket. It is advertised as 50% fruit, 50% vegetable and 100% good for you.
  • You can purchase additional items online when you sign up! This includes breads, wraps, more veggies, granola, coconut oil and more. The prices are all listed out. There are great options, especially for families.
  • This is a one-time deal. Meaning you must sign up from week to week. I like that option as I am out of town a lot on weekends. This one basket will likely last me about 2 weeks for the two of us.
  • The food is described as being sourced as locally as possible. A few items I had were from Mexico. However, we all know there isn’t exactly a lot being grown in ND in the past 6 months so that is understandable to me.
  • Their website has additional information and is very thorough in how the program works.

Check below to see what I got in my basket! This was from late April. As always, I had to price this out (online from a Fargo grocery store is where I got the rates) to see if I got a good deal or not…I did the same with my next basket and I had big savings on that one.

20140426_095953

  • 1 bunch romaine lettuce [$1.89]
  • 1 bunch asparagus (about 1 lb.) [$3.49]
  • 1 small bunch broccoli [$1.49]
  • 1 3-lb. bag purple potatoes [$5.00?? – couldn’t find any comparison]
  • 5 yellow squash, about 2 lbs. [$4.00]
  • 3 grapefruits [$4.00]
  • 3 tomatoes [$2.50]
  • 2 cucumbers [$1.80]
  • 1 bunch bananas (6) [$1.50]
  • 3 mangoes [$4.25]
  • 1 cantaloupe [$4.00]
  • 4 huge ears of corn [$1.25]

The produce was all in excellent shape. None of it was overripe, some of it was under ripe. I was very happy with what I received for the price and will definitely do it again. I’m glad I gave it a try! From the prices above, which we all know vary week to week and location to location, the produce retails at about: $35. I paid $25 and next time I sign up it will be about $20 per basket. Whoo hoo! I love a deal!!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

