Buffalo Chicken Meatballs

Man, we really, really love buffalo flavored anything. I love the spice. To keep it healthy, (save the deep fried wings for a special occasion) these are lean ground chicken meatballs with some added veggies and light toppings.

20140410_184848

You might notice I serve a lot of my food with asparagus. I just can’t get enough of it and it is always a great deal during the spring. So delicious roasted with garlic and olive oil or grilled!

20140409_192406

I couldn’t resist throwing in a photo of this handsome beast, Winston. He looks so dang cute. Also – nice kitchen, right? I swear I am going to do a remodel post. I am waiting for some decorations I FINALLY ordered to be delivered and hope to update you.

20140409_192414

Buffalo Chicken Meatballs, barely adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

Makes 16 meatballs , 4 servings

Ingredients:
1lb ground chicken breast
1/4 small red onion, chopped fine
2 gloves garlic, minced
1 egg
1/3 cup bread crumbs
1 tablespoon powdered Ranch Dip mix
2 tablespoons Oikos yogurt dip or light sour cream
1 cup buffalo wing sauce

For garnish – chopped green onions and crumbled feta cheese

Directions:

    1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Stir together red onion, garlic, egg, bread crumbs, and ranch dip mix in a large bowl. Add ground chicken then mix until just combined. Divide mixture into quarters, then each quarter into 4 balls. Place meatballs onto a non-stick sprayed cooling rack set on top of a baking sheet, then bake for 16-18 minutes, or until cooked through. (I baked mine in a baking dish, there were some drippings though so do as you please.)
    2. Meanwhile, warm the Oikos yogurt dip and buffalo sauce in a small pan over medium heat, stirring to combine. Spoon over cooked meatballs and garnish with green onion and feta cheese if you wish.

20140409_193741

The meatballs are very soft when forming them. They do let out some juice when they cook. If that bothers you, bake them on a rack.

20140410_182804

A lot of people warm their wing sauce with butter to tame the heat a bit. I found it just as effective and healthier to use yogurt or light sour cream.

20140410_184843

Spoon your sauce on your meatballs and top with feta cheese if you like. Serve alongside veggies. Fresh cut carrots and celery would be a good match. This will be repeated in our household. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buffalo Chicken Meatballs

  1. Tekesha says:

    These look great! I know you posted this awhile ago, but I found you via Trampling Rose’s blog and have spent the last hour creepily going through your old posts, lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

