Healthier taco dip

Hi! Before I continue with my regularly scheduled program of recipes, I want to say THANK YOU SO MUCH for everyone who commented to me on Facebook, Twitter @feistyeats, or Instagram at feistyeats, or on the blog for your kind words. I was totally floored (and humbled) at the amazing feedback. I really put myself out there and it was totally worth it. I shouldn’t be surprised, as the people I try to surround myself are, in general, great people. It’s amazing how many of us share the same struggles. I am sure I will continue with struggles and maybe once in a while I can post them here. The ONE YEAR post wasn’t typical as it was very personal and I’m uh, not one to share my feelings much, so thank you again! I plan to go back to mostly recipes but I will try to incorporate more healthy ones as I had feedback for those. I still love baking and snacking so those will continue as well. Again thank you and onto a recipe!

I could eat chips and dip everyday. I made this one weekend as a treat but in a lightened up version compared to the typical taco layer dip you have probably eaten (and loved).

20140216_143355

I even served it in that pretty dish for Mr. FeistyEats and I. Why not?!

20140216_131601

Healthier taco dip

  • 1 cup fat free refried beans (use the rest for tacos later in the week!)
  • 6 oz. plain Greek yogurt OR light sour cream
  • 1 Tbsp. taco seasoning
  • 1 cup reduced fat cheese – taco flavor or Colby Jack or cheddar
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, diced and seeded
  • 1/2 stalk Romaine lettuce, shredded
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • Tortilla chips or veggies for dipping
  • Salsa for garnish (I don’t like to add it to the dip as it can water it down as it sits), avocado for garnish (I was out this day)

Layer your fat free beans on a platter. Mix your yogurt or sour cream with taco seasoning and layer that on the beans. Add a layer of cheese, lettuce, tomatoes and then green onions. Feel free to add any other faves like olives or jalapenos. Put in fridge to cool and eat with veggies or chips. I like to top mine with salsa.

20140216_131933

Tip of the day! Use a plastic knife to cut your leafy greens. If you use a knife the metal will react with the lettuce and it’ll turn brown quicker. Or you can just tear it with your hands too. I really like my lil’ plastic knife though.

20140216_14333420140216_143346

A view from the top and side.

20140216_153542

I topped my dip with some salsa and dug in right away. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

