Eggland’s Best Dutch Baby Pancake

Are you wondering what a Dutch baby is? Sometimes they are also called German pancakes. According to Wikipedia this is a sweet popover normally served for breakfast. It is made with eggs, flour, sugar and milk and usually seasoned with vanilla and/or cinnamon. Fruit or other flavorings can be added. It is baked in a cast iron or metal pan and falls soon after being removed from the oven. It is generally served with fresh squeezed lemon, butter, powdered sugar, fruit or syrup. Wiki also tells me that Dutch babies were introduced in the first half of the 1900s at a café in Seattle, Washington.

20140302_093355

I personally like it because it looks like a lot of effort, but is quite easy. Also, who wants to sit flipping pancake after pancake while a stack gets cold and you finish up the batter? This is all the batter in one pan, cut and serve. Easy!

The main reason I decided to make a Dutch baby is because I finally cashed in my coupon for a dozen free Eggland’s Best eggs. I won a wonderful prize package from the Trampling Rose blog a while back before my kitchen was torn apart. I was ready to bake with them and wanted something where the eggs would shine through. This was the dish!

20140302_085728

You don’t need many ingredients to make a Dutch Baby.

20140302_085916

A close-up of the eggs. You always know an EB egg by their tattoo!

Where else to look to make my first Dutch Baby but to Martha Stewart. I know she must be right. I based my recipe off of her hers.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup milk, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • Berries, powdered sugar, butter and syrup to garnish if you wish

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a medium cast-iron (mine is a 10”) or ovenproof nonstick skillet, melt 2 tablespoons butter in your preheated oven; set aside.
  2. In a blender (I used a food processor), combine eggs, milk, flour, salt, vanilla, and 1/4 cup sugar. Blend until foamy, about 1 minute. Pour batter into skillet; bake until pancake is puffed and lightly browned, about 20 minutes.
  3. Working quickly, dot pancake with butter. Top with your favorite pancake toppings. Slice into wedges, and serve immediately.

20140302_085928

Along with my free dozen eggs, I also got a cute care package full of Eggland’s Best goodies. Here is what was all included in my Eggland’s Best prize package:

  • One coupon for a dozen free eggs
  • Reusable Eggland’s Best grocery bag (very sturdy)
  • Eggland’s Best apron
  • Large Eggland’s best bowl
  • Eggland’s Best scraper
  • Eggland’s Best spatula
  • Eggland’s Best whisk
  • Fun EB stuffed egg toy (that my dog demolished!)

 

20140302_085945

Eggland’s Best up and close.

20140302_091131

My cast iron skillet is hot and ready for the batter.

20140302_09322520140302_093355

Here is the baby straight out of the oven. You can see by the time I topped it with fruit and butter it had dropped. It still stays “up” but not as much. It still looks impressive even after dropping though.

20140302_093702

This was a fun treat and something different than my usual scrambled egg breakfast. I topped mine with some sautéed bananas, strawberries and powdered sugar.

20140302_093713

Enjoy! Thanks again to Eggland’s Best and Trampling Rose! Check out the EB website to see why their eggs are nutritionally better for you and Trampling Rose for some great South Dakota recipes. I love to read blogs somewhat local to ND!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eggland’s Best Dutch Baby Pancake

  1. mom says:

    What a cute little package of goodies your got there. You have had some really good post lately just haven’t had the time to comment. I really do like your post and appreicate all the work you put into this and the recipes. Now only if you would move home and cook for me full time. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

