$15 bag

A while back Krause’s ran a special when you could come and pick out a paper bag they had and fill it with a variety of fruits/vegetables advertised. You could fill that bag to the top (not over) and it would cost $15 no matter what it contained. The special ran Thursday – Saturday. We went Thursday night and some of the options were already wiped out. They restock each day but we filled up our bag anyway.

20140220_201025

For fun, here is what I got. And because I am weird, the approximate estimate of what the items would cost off of the shelf. Did I save any money? (Approximate costs are based from online quotes in Fargo.)

20140220_201139 

  • 5 lbs. red potatoes $3
  • 1 spaghetti squash $3.87
  • 2 lbs. carrots $1.79
  • 2 green peppers $2
  • 2 tomatoes $1.35
  • 1 head cabbage $2.50
  • 2 sweet potatoes $1.50
  • 6 red onions $5.50

Grand total of about $21.50. So yes, I did save about $6.50. Depending on what you bought I think your savings could be even more. If anything, it was a fun sale and I’d do it again. We almost went back for another bag but 2 people can only eat so much fresh produce.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

