Venison sausage, onion and pepper skillet

Like many people in ND, my husband is an avid hunter. I have also started hunting recently in the past few years. Avid? No. But I really enjoy deer – deer steak, deer sausage, backstraps, venison bacon, etc. Generally we eat our deer sausage with eggs and hashbrowns for breakfast. I was looking for a new use and I really enjoyed this recipe. Not a hunter? Feel free to use chicken or pork sausage instead.

20140216_121929

This skillet was nice and flavorful and especially warm on a cold night. Basil and garlic give it a great flavor

20140130_192033

Pretend you don’t see my messy marks. This is all prepared in one skillet so clean up is easy, even if you are a messy cook!

20140128_185041

Venison sausage, onion and pepper skillet, based on this Johnsonville recipe
What you need
  • 1 pkg. venison sausage, cooked and bias-sliced (could use other sausage types), about 15-20 oz.  
  • 1 large red pepper, julienne stripped
  • 1 large yellow pepper, julienne stripped
  • 1 small red onion, julienne stripped
  • 1Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. dried basil
  • 2 fresh Roma tomatoes, diced (optional)
  • 1 can (14.5 oz.) Italian diced tomatoes, not drained
  • salt and pepper to taste, along with other seasonings. I added a good amount of Mrs. Dash, garlic salt, garlic powder and some Montreal Steak seasonings.

Preparation

1. Cook one package of venison sausage as you usually do (I brown mine first well on the outside and then add some water, cover and cook through…I have seen many variations) Bias-slice and keep warm.

2. Julienne strip peppers and onion and set aside.

3.In the pan you cooked your sausage in, add olive oil, peppers and onion and sauté 5 minutes or until crisp tender. Add garlic and sauté for about 30 seconds.

4.  Add basil, all tomatoes and sausage. Heat through, seasoning to taste with salt and pepper and any other spices you prefer. Serve in a bowl or over brown rice.

20140216_121934

With the sauce from the tomatoes this would be great on brown rice. I like to eat it as a super thick stew. I am glad I found a new way to eat up our venison sausage. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Venison sausage, onion and pepper skillet

  1. Pingback: Meal plan for the week of March 10 | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

