Ground turkey lettuce cups

This week I will be sharing 3 recipes with you using ground turkey. Last week I stumbled across a great deal at our grocery store, Krause’s. They had lean Jennie-O ground turkey BOGO – buy one, get one free. So for only $5, I got 2.5 pounds of ground turkey. We use a lot of ground beef, so it is nice to switch it up and this is also healthy. I made these recipes in the middle of our kitchen renovation. While I could still cook, I didn’t have a sink or dishwasher. My method was to cook as much as possible in one day and use food throughout the week. If you don’t have ground turkey, ground chicken or beef would work with any of these recipes. Even if your kitchen isn’t torn apart, it is a great way to meal prep for the week and put things together quickly during your hectic week.

20140211_184424

This is way better than any Chinese take out and easy to assemble.

20140211_180426

I cut, chop and package all veggies on the same day as I cooked the meat. I usually do this – full kitchen or not – for ease throughout the week. I browned all of the turkey and then separated it by eyeballing it into 1 lb. for the lettuce cups, 1 lb. for taco wraps and 1/2 lb. for pizzas. We got 3 suppers for both of us and leftovers for lunches. Thrifty! In my other skillet I sautéed about 7 cups of various veggies that were on sale – peppers, onions, celery, carrots, asparagus and broccoli.

20140211_183217

Please don’t mind our plywood countertops. If the veggies are cooked, sliced and ready to eat, you have a better chance of eating healthy or grabbing them instead of cereal. (My current crutch.)

Ground turkey lettuce cups – makes 4 servings

  • 1 lb. ground turkey – browned
  • 1/4 cup (scant) brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 Tablespoon sesame oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon red chili pepper flakes
  • 1 Tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon sriracha sauce
  • green onions for garnish
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 4 cups sautéed veggies such as broccoli, peppers, onions, asparagus, whatever you like
  • Lettuce cups – Bibb or romaine

Combine brown sugar, soy sauce, sesame oil, garlic, ginger, water, pepper flakes, rice vinegar and sriracha in a bowl. Mix to combine. Heat up your already cooked ground turkey and veggies. When they are warm, pour all your sauce over the meat and veggies cook a bit until liquid absorbs/reduces. Turn off heat.

To serve – assemble your lettuce cup with brown rice and top with veggies/meat. Garnish with green onions and more sriracha.

20140211_184407

If you don’t want to mess with the lettuce, just serve over the brown rice. I like to use the brown rice you find in the freezer section. We used about 1 cup with this recipe, reserve the rest for the next recipe coming up on Wednesday. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

